The Writer's Art

The Writer's Art

by James J. Kilpatrick

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49 $9.99 Save 15% Current price is $8.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

"Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games," says James J. Kilpatrick, "good, better, and best."  With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and professionals alike, The Writer's Art highlights techniques and examples of good writing. A section of the book called "My Crotchets and Your Crotchets" comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781449405618
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date: 09/14/2010
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 262
File size: 2 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Writer's Art 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
labwriter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I try to read it once a year. Or at least pick it up from time to time and thumb through the chapters. I taught writing at the university for awhile, and I used pieces and parts of this book in almost every class. I particularly like the two chapters "This we ought to be [and ought not to be] doing." What a gem of a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scott's Super Groovy two week reading list of stuff one / sans pictures.