Woodpeckers, Toucans, and Their Kin (Animals in Order Series)

Woodpeckers, Toucans, and Their Kin (Animals in Order Series)

Hardcover(Franklin Watts Library Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions


What does a pileated woodpecker have in common with a northern flicker? Are all insects bugs? Do all birds fly: The books in the Animals in Order series will help you make sense of the animal kingdom. Each book focuses on a particular scientific grouping called an "order." You will discover that it is easier to learn about the traits and behaviors of animals if you first know which ones are most closely related.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780531122433
Publisher: Scholastic Library Publishing
Publication date: 03/01/2003
Series: Animals in Order Series
Edition description: Franklin Watts Library Edition
Pages: 48
Product dimensions: 7.94(w) x 9.72(h) x 0.36(d)
Lexile: IG900L (what's this?)
Age Range: 9 - 11 Years

Table of Contents

Meet the Piciformes: From Woodpeckers to Toucans4
Traits of the Piciformes6
The Order of Living Things8
How Piciformes Fit In10
Piciformes in North America
Pileated Woodpecker12
Acorn Woodpecker14
Northern Flicker16
Downy Woodpecker18
Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker20
Piciformes in South America
Rufous-Tailed Jacamar22
White-Fronted Nunbird24
Toco Toucan26
Chestnut-Eared Aracari28
Piciformes in Africa
Greater Honeyguide30
Yellow-Fronted Tinkerbird32
Bearded Barbet34
Piciformes in Europe and Asia
Eurasian Wryneck36
Great Spotted Woodpecker38
European Green Woodpecker40
Looking and Listening for Woodpeckers42
Words to Know44
Learning More46

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews