Watching Eagles Soar

Watching Eagles Soar

by Margaret Coel


$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


In this thrilling collection of short stories, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel invites you to follow Father John O’Malley and Vicky Holden further into the hidden mysteries and crimes of the Wind River Reservation…
When artifacts are stolen from the Arapaho Museum, Father John and Vicky are drawn down a path of two-bit hoodlums, drug dealers, and murder…An allergic reaction lands a young man in the ICU, but his life hinges on solving the mystery of a thirty-year-old murder…Vicky finds herself in a game of cat and mouse with Lonny Hereford, the murderer they call Bad Heart, whom she helped put away three years ago…
Experience these and other tales of sin, secrets, and retribution by award-winning author Margaret Coel. Also included are two essays by the author revealing her insights on writing about the West.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425265543
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/02/2013
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 375,005
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Margaret Coel is the New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of the acclaimed Wind River Mystery novels featuring Father John O’Malley and Vicky Holden, including Buffalo Bill's Dead Now and The Spider's Web, as well as the Catherine McLeod Mysteries, including The Perfect Suspect ,and several works of nonfiction. Originally a historian by trade, she is considered an expert on the Arapaho Indians.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"Tony Hillerman calls Margaret Coel 'a master' of her craft. It is no wonder. [She] brings Native Americans to the fictional frontier in a way that honors the genre."The Denver Post

"Coel masterfully interweaves modern mysteries with the richness of Native American history and creates multilayered relationships in the larger tapestry of community life."Ventura (CA) County Star

"Now widely considred the most accomplished heir to Tony Hillerman's legacy."Scripps Howard News Service

"A great storyteller."The Daily Oklahoman

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Watching Eagles Soar 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A variety of short stories with Father John and Vickie called the Arapaho Ten Commandments, as well as some other stories with Vickie. The stories I really enjoyed was with Molly Brown and J.J. A good collection of short stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
This anthology opens with ten short stories, each based on one of the Ten Commandments. The two protagonists of the Wind River Mystery series, Vicky Holden and Father John O’Malley, grace each one of the stories. And then there is the ironic novella, “Molly Brown and Cleopatra’s Diamond,” describing how a newly rich woman crashes Denver society. Molly was a real-life person, wife of J.J. Brown, who struck it rich finding a mother lode of gold in what everyone thought was only a source for silver, and grew this stake into a larger fortune through business acumen. Additional short stories, under the general heading “Stories from Beyond,” ironic tales basically with a mystery twist, some featuring Vicki and the Father, and one other involving Molly Brown, continue until the anthology concludes with two personal essays. The first, an introspective and informative look at how a story is born: from the germ of an idea or fact developed through an author’s imagination; the other, an interesting look at the author’s approach to writing based in the history and characters of the West and its past. The author’s highly respected, well-written novels in the Wind River series are illustrative of the themes of the two essays, based in the present, mysteries steeped in the past Arapaho culture and history. These stories were written over a long period, from 1997 to2011, and were published in a variety of media. The collection is a valuable addition to anyone’s library, and is highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bites a chunk of flesh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get into partner n do # 1-35
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zeus was walking to the door "After you." He said to Mickey