Transformations Live for the People

Transformations Live for the People

by Particle


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


It's takes a lot of chutzpah to unveil your new guitarists in front of rolling tape and cameras, but so self-confident were Particle in their new lineup that they seem totally at ease -- so much so that one would think this quintet had been playing together for years, not mere months. And thus did the group take to the Henry Ford Theater stage in Hollywood in February 2006. Transformations Live captures the entire one-hour-and-45-minute event. Particle kick off with "Give," and they do precisely that, offering up a perfect example of '70s-styled blues-flecked prog rock, a sublime showcase for newcomers Ben Combe and Scott Metzger. "7 Minutes to Radio Darkness, Pt. 3" puts the pomp, but not the pomposity, back in pomp rock, this number an extravaganza for keyboardist Steve Molitz. The faces may have changed, but their intent -- and intensity -- remain intact, as Robbie Kreiger takes the stage to join the band on a driving cover of "L.A. Woman." That's fabulous, but "Eye of the Storm" is phenomenal, a weather system that seems to keep on expanding until it surely covers the globe. Particle now head backstage, accompanied by the cameras, eventually returning for an extensive encore that kicks off with a hip-hop-styled "Particle People," joined on-stage by rapper Blackalicious, with Joe Satriani and DJ Logic jumping aboard for a megalicious "W." "Sun Mar 11" seems to float and soar above the crowd and a psychedelic-splashed "Thanks" is short and sweet, while the acoustic "Lucky Man" spins out its beauty for an eternity. And then in fitting style, it's time for a superjam of "Superstitious," with the previous guests and the Lucent Dossier dance troupe returning to the stage for a storming take on the Stevie Wonder hit. It's one hell of a show, and all the more spectacular considering it's the first with the new lineup. Where can the group possibly go from here? Well, check out the new song "The Sweeper" in the bonus features for a clue. And catch up on all the latest with the bandmembers themselves discussing how the new lineup came about, as well as their love of collaborations.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/18/2006
Label: Shout Factory
UPC: 0826663101096
catalogNumber: 10109
Rank: 183288

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Particle   Primary Artist
Eric Gould   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Scott Metzger   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Ben Coombs   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Steve Molitz   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Darren Pujalet   Drums,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Ziggy Modeliste   Composer
Emily Johnson   Art Direction
Particle   Composer
Jeff Palo   Producer
Whitney Padgett   Producer
Matthew Levin   Producer
Ben Combe   Composer
Keith Burhans   Engineer
Evan Daum   Producer,Engineer
Jonathan Shank   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews