The Wind Softly Murmurs: Poems of Family Love and Loss

The Wind Softly Murmurs: Poems of Family Love and Loss

by Sharon Arthur


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


The Wind Softly Murmurs is for anyone who has ever grieved over the passing of a loved one. These poems arose from the poet’s efforts to resolve the grief that followed the death of her parents. This book reflects her transformative journey that began while she was immersed in her parent’s love. Her progress was suspended at their deaths, but she ultimately recovered through the process of writing.

These profound, lyrical poems ask us to contemplate our own lives and perceptions in order to move towards healing and a deeper spirituality. They urge us to meditate on death, loss, family, love, eternal life, and renewal. They encourage us to embrace change, as it ultimately leads to evolution and new life. The poet hopes this uplifting message of eternal life and renewal will bring solace to the readers, nurturing their souls in their bereavement.

Throughout our lives, there is loss. As we age, the losses seem to come more frequently. It always hurts, but there is value in the pain. With every loss that is handled in the right spirit, we find ourselves a little stronger.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781732205604
Publisher: Sharon Arthur
Publication date: 01/01/2019
Pages: 120
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.28(d)

About the Author

Sharon Arthur has a B.S. degree in therapeutic recreation and a B.F.A. degree in painting and printmaking. She had a successful 20-year career as an artist and a painter in oils on canvas, with a commercial fine art gallery in Duck, North Carolina.

She was a caregiver for her elderly parents for the past 10 years, until their passing. She began writing poetry after her father's death as an outlet for her grief. When her mother died, she began to write short stories as well. Both of her parents were professional writers, so she comes by her writing talent naturally. She feels her parents are helping her to write these poems-that their beautiful spirits still live through these words.

Table of Contents

CHAPTER ONE: DEATH AND LOSS The Body On Facing Death The Mirror The Dust Death The Spider Death's Airs Confusion Alone The Crowd The Memorial CHAPTER TWO: FAMILY LOVE AND MEMORIES For My Father My Father's Jacket Mother's Birthday Memorial Grief The Stage A Mother's Love The Begotten The Brow The Gift Cut from the Same Cloth CHAPTER THREE: ETERNAL LIFE AND RENEWAL Identity Search The Physique The Moss Resurrection The Bones Persistence The Colors of Time Transformation Immortality AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews