The Whispering Oak (The Last Firehawk Series #3)

The Whispering Oak (The Last Firehawk Series #3)


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24


Travel along with Tag, Skyla, and Blaze as they continue their search for the Ember Stone, in this series full of adventure, powerful dark magic, and fantasy!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!

In the third book in this page-turning series, Tag, Skyla, and Blaze journey to the Whispering Oak in search of the next piece of the Ember Stone. There, they find strange creatures called grumblebees. But where is the magical stone? Thorn's dark magic continues to spread. If Tag and his friends don't find all of the pieces soon, Perodia will be destroyed! This action-packed series makes a great introduction to fantasy and quest stories for younger readers. Realistic black-and-white artwork appears on every page!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781338122558
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 03/27/2018
Series: Last Firehawk Series , #3
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 36,038
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 6 - 8 Years

About the Author

Katrina Charman was the recipient of the SCBWI British Isles' Margaret Carey scholarship for fiction in 2013, and in 2014 she was one of the winners of the SCBWI's Undiscovered Voices competition. Katrina's first children's book, the early reader The Ninjabread Man, was published with Franklin Watts (UK) in July 2015. The Last Firehawk is her first early chapter book series. Katrina lives in South East England with her husband and three daughters.

Jeremy Norton is a British illustrator who lives and works in Barcelona, Spain. The Last Firehawk is the first early chapter book series he has illustrated. He works digitally, and aims to convey a childlike sense of wonder through his artwork.

Table of Contents

Chapter One: Shifting Sands
Chapter Two: Tornado!
Chapter Three: A Magical Meadow
Chapter Four: Tunnel of Spies
Chapter Five: Crag Beetles
Chapter Six: Trapped!
Chapter Seven: The Grumblebees
Chapter Eight: The Bears
Chapter Nine: The Last Honeycomb
Chapter Ten: Under Attack!
Chapter Eleven: Herbert and Hank
Chapter Twelve: The Shadow Moves Closer
Chapter Thirteen: A New Home
Chapter Fourteen: The Next Piece

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Whispering Oak (The Last Firehawk Series #3) 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The third book in The Last Firehawk Series follows the same format as the first two books. The three friends travel to a new location, encounter Thorn’s spies, and meet new friends that help them find the next piece of the Ember Stone. New characters—talking bees and grumpy bears—add a new element to the story that brings interest. The three friends continue to use teamwork and must use logic to convince the bees to give them the Ember Stone. The Whispering Oak will introduce newly independent readers to the adventure genre. The Whispering Oak should be read after the first two books in the series. Onomatopoeias make reading fun as well as add to the threatening mood. Short sentence structure, dialogue, and simple vocabulary make The Whispering Oak easy to read. Black-and-white illustrations appear on every page, which help bring the story to life. Read more at