The Time Has Come

The Time Has Come

by Martina McBride


View All Available Formats & Editions


Rest assured, it's highly unlikely that Martina McBride will ever issue another record that sounds like The Time Has Come. With co-producers Paul Worley and Ed Seay (who also worked with her on her breakthrough, The Way That I Am), McBride delivers a set of neo-traditionalist country and progressive country-inflected folk songs that showcase her ability to get to the heart of a song and turn it into something communicative and thought provoking. With a host of Nashville superpickers and backing vocalists from Garth Brooks and Carl Jackson to Kathy Chiavola, McBride turns in intense performances of the Emory Gordy/Jim Rushing classic "Cheap Whiskey" for a neo-honky tonk feel, as well as the stompin' nightclub country of the Longacre/Wilson-penned title track and the Lonnie Wilson/Charlotte Wilson/Herbert Wilson weeper "Losing You Feels Good." The album ends with Gretchen Peters' "When You're Old," a meditative love song delivered with the empathy, grace, and elegance that have become McBride's trademark. This is a very solid debut, even if it resembles none of her other work.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2002
Label: Bmg Special Product
UPC: 0755174669521
catalogNumber: 46695

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Martina McBride   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Garth Brooks   Background Vocals
Carol Chase   Background Vocals
Joe Chemay   Bass
A-Strings   Strings
Kathy Chiavola   Background Vocals
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar,pedabro
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
John Hobbs   Piano
John Hughey   Steel Guitar
Bill Hullett   Acoustic Guitar
Carl Jackson   Background Vocals
Wendy Suits Johnson   Background Vocals
Paul Leim   Drums
Anthony Martin   Organ,Background Vocals
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Steve Nathan   Electric Guitar
Harry Stinson   Background Vocals
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Glenn Worf   Bass
Paul Worley   Acoustic Guitar
Andrea Zonn   Fiddle,Background Vocals
Dennis Wilson   Background Vocals
Mike Chapman   Bass

Technical Credits

Connie Ellisor   Director
Jeff Giedt   Contributor
Anthony Martin   Engineer,Contributor
Ed Seay   Producer,Engineer
D. Bergen White   Director
Paul Worley   Producer
Mary Hamilton   Art Direction
Clarke Schleicher   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews