The Soft Parade

The Soft Parade

by The Doors


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


The most uneven studio album recorded with Jim Morrison in the group, partially because their experiments with brass and strings on about half the tracks weren't entirely successful. More to the point, though, this was their weakest overall set of material, low lights including filler like "Do It" and "Runnin' Blue," a strange bluegrass-soul blend that was a small hit. On the other hand, about half the record is quite good, especially the huge hit "Touch Me" (their most successful integration of orchestration), the vicious hard rock riffs of "Wild Child," the overlooked "Shaman's Blues," and the lengthy title track, a multi-part suite that was one of the band's best attempts to mix rock with poetry. "Tell All the People" and "Wishful Sinful," both penned by Robbie Krieger, were uncharacteristically wistful tunes that became small hits.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2012
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227971915
catalogNumber: 532122
Rank: 7257

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doors   Primary Artist
Curtis Amy   Saxophone,Soloist
Jim Morrison   Vocals
Ray Manzarek   Keyboards
John Densmore   Drums
Jesse McReynolds   Mandolin
Reinol Andino   Conga
Harvey Brooks   Bass
Jim Buchanan   Fiddle
Doug Lubahn   Bass
Champ Webb   Soloist
Robby Krieger   Guitar,Choir, Chorus
George Bohanan   Trombone,Soloist

Technical Credits

Jim Morrison   Arranger,Composer
Ray Manzarek   Arranger
John Densmore   Arranger
Bruce Botnick   Engineer
Paul Rothchild   Producer
William S. Harvey   Art Direction
Joel Brodsky   Cover Photo
Peter Schaumann   Illustrations
Robby Krieger   Arranger,Composer
Paul Harris   Orchestral Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews