The Rising

The Rising

by Ian Tregillis


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


The second book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war.

Jax, a rogue Clakker, has wreaked havoc upon the Clockmakers' Guild by destroying the Grand Forge. Reborn in the flames, he must begin his life as a free Clakker, but liberation proves its own burden.

Berenice, formerly the legendary spymaster of New France, mastermind behind her nation's attempts to undermine the Dutch Hegemony — has been banished from her homeland and captured by the Clockmakers Guild's draconian secret police force.

Meanwhile, Captain Hugo Longchamp is faced with rallying the beleaguered and untested defenders of Marseilles-in-the-West for the inevitable onslaught from the Brasswork Throne and its army of mechanical soldiers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316248013
Publisher: Orbit
Publication date: 12/01/2015
Series: Alchemy Wars Series , #2
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 783,573
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rising 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
JLBlessing More than 1 year ago
All of the elements from the first book, and more. The story line drastically slows pace towards the middle of the book, but the whole ending definitely makes up for it! I am looking forward to the third book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started off with the bang that ended the first book, and kept this gear punk adventure clicking along!