by Conrad Richter

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


The powerful story-telling voice that has carried so many readers back into the world of the American frontier is heard again in these eight tales of pioneers and pioneer days by the author of The Sea of Grass, The Light in the Forest, The Waters of Kronos and The Town. Each story captures the force and sweep of our past in all its fierce reality, bringing us the strong, vigorous, unforgettable men and women of a simpler, harsher, more heroic time.
The title story gives the collection its unifying theme, that of the frontier marriage, the “rawhide knot”—the couple bound together by the rough exigencies of pioneer life. A young girl, Sayward Hewett, has walked with her family from Pennsylvania to a settlement in the Ohio wilderness, and she is afraid of nothing. One night the men of the settlement—drunk, bent on real devilment, hardly less wild after a day’s carousing than the panthers lurking just beyond the handful of log cabins—decide to “hatch up a marryin’” between an old maid and a shy, outcast, book-learned young lawyer from back East. But the girl Sayward, facing the whole lot of them, determined that she will marry their scapegoat bridegroom, wins her own victory.
In “Smoke Over the Prarie,” a marriage seems to presage—indeed, to precipitate—the downfall of a great baron of the Old West. In “Early Americana,” and eighteen-year-old boy, trapped in a Comanche uprising, finds himself ambushed by love. In all of these stories, love and violence are yoked together by the challenge of life on the frontier. Here is the physical and emotional landscape of that world, with its vast spaces, its elemental struggles, its quality both of legend and of history, brought to us with the power and breadth that have given Conrad Richter’s work its enduring place in American fiction. 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780804150194
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/28/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 622,528
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

CONRAD RICHTER was born in Pennsylvania, the son, grandson, nephew, and great-nephew of clergymen. He was intended for the ministry, but at thirteen he declines a scholarship and left preperatory school for high school, from which he graduated at fifteen. After graduation, he went to work. His family on his mother's side was identified with the early American scene, and from boyhood on he was saturated with tales and the color of Eastern pioneer days. In 1928 he and his small family moved to New Mexico, where his heart and mind were soon caputred by the Southwest. From this time on he devoted himself to fiction. The Sea of Grass and The Trees were awarded the gold medal of the Societies of Libraries of New York University in 1942. The Town received the Pulitzer Prize in 1951, and The Waters of Kronos won the 1960 National Book Award for fiction. His other novels included The Fields (1946), The Lady (1957), A Simple Honorable Man (1962), The Grandfathers (1964), A Country of Strangers (1966; a companion to The Light in the Forest), and The Aristocrat, published just before his death in 1968.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

RAWHIDE KNOT&OTH STORIES 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
Excellent short stories by the author of Sea of Grass. Conrad Richter is another voice, like Zane Gray, Wallace Stegner, Ivan Doig and Louis LAmore, that brings the old west alive. The majority of these stories concern weddings, nothing like marriage as we know it today. The first story will find you a little shocked at those differences, but by the end you are not sure which type of wedding is the shock-filled one. If you have not read Conrad Richter, or it has been years since you have, give him a go. Sea of Grass is - I am wordless. It will not be so long before I re-read this author.