The Poisoned Pawn (Inspector Ramirez Series #2)

The Poisoned Pawn (Inspector Ramirez Series #2)

by Peggy Blair

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

When Cuban Inspector Ricardo Ramirez is dispatched to Canada   and told to bring home a priest found in possession of child pornography depicting Cuban children, he knows his job will be hard enough. But it gets worse once he’s in Ottawa, and women in Havana start dropping dead from a mysterious toxin. Worried about his family, powerless to help pathologist Hector Apiro, and faced with the threat of a Canadian travel advisory that could shut down Cuban tourism, Ramirez tries focus on his mission. As he does, he untangles a web of deceit and depravity that extends all the way from the corridors of power in Ottawa to those of the Vatican , and uncovers a cold-blooded killer.

The Poisoned Pawn is the gripping, fast-paced sequel to the award-winning, critically acclaimed mystery The Beggar’s Opera. Evoking the crumbling beauty of Old Havana and featuring Inspector Ramirez, a man haunted by the victims of his unsolved cases, it’s perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Martin Cruz Smith who love exotic settings and unforgettable characters.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143179993
Publisher: Penguin Canada
Publication date: 02/05/2013
Series: An Inspector Ramirez Novel Series , #2
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.85(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Peggy Blair was a lawyer for more than thirty years. Her critically  acclaimed mystery The Beggar’s Opera won the 2012 Scotiabank  Giller Prize Readers’ Choice contest and was shortlisted for the  Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award. The Poisoned Pawn  is the second in the Inspector Ramirez series. Peggy lives in Ottawa.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for The Beggar’s Opera:
 
“Decaying but beautiful Havana provides the atmospheric backdrop for Blair’s absorbing debut, the first in a series introducing Ricardo Ramirez.” – Publishers Weekly
 
“Havana is as much a character as the people in Canadian author Blair’s fast-paced story.” – New York Post
 
 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews