The Midnight Lie

The Midnight Lie

by Michael Palmer

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"This is the story of the Newtown Murders.."

A story of sex and repression, rejection and hate.
An intellectual thriller in the tradition of 'The Name Of The Rose' and 'The Interpretation of Murder'.


Two gruesome murders occur at midnight, in the pouring rain, of a man and a woman. All the suspects have their motives, of lust and love, greed and revenge; but it proves hard for a famous detective to decide between a shady M.P., gangsters and prostitutes, between a celebrated philosopher and his wife. Somebody is lying. But who? Who is the monster hiding within this web of deceit? As the story unfolds, the lies mount up and the truth becomes even less certain. Motives begin to shift as we learn more about the victims. Then there are events and conversations which, as the reader looks back, take on an entirely different significance, now seen as containing clues, perhaps previously missed, towards the eventual unmasking of the murderer. All is finally revealed through the killer's own psychoanalysis, a story of sex and repression, rejection and hate.

The Midnight Lie falls with the tradition of thrillers with an intellectual core. It is philosophical-psychoanalytical murder story set in Manchester. Wrapped around a rapidly unfolding story – with a cast of shady and memorable characters - are clues embedded within discussions on the nature of lying - how we can deceive others and ourselves - on the meaning of love and hate, and on the inner compulsions that can lead to revenge and murder.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158609268
Publisher: Matador Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 11/09/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 200
Sales rank: 503,773
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Michael Palmer (1942-2013) was a physician and bestselling writer of medical thrillers. One of his best-known books, Extreme Measures (1991), was turned into a movie starring Hugh Grant, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Gene Hackman. He is alleged to have decided to try to write a book after reading a medical thriller by a fellow Wesleyan graduate, and thinking "If he could do it, why couldn’t I?" His books have been translated into more than 30 languages.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Midnight Lie 1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to force myself to keep reading hoping it would get better. Unfortunately by page 172 I couldn’t go on.