The Merchant's House: The Wesley Peterson Series, Book 1

The Merchant's House: The Wesley Peterson Series, Book 1

by Kate Ellis

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$14.70 $14.95 Save 2% Current price is $14.7, Original price is $14.95. You Save 2%.
Usually ships within 1 week

Overview

*THE FIRST MYSTERY IN THE WESLEY PETERSON SERIES*

A history of secrets and lies . . .

DS Wesley Peterson, newly arrived in the West Country town of Tradmouth, has his hands full when a child goes missing and a young woman is brutally murdered on a lonely cliff path. Then his old friend, archaeologist Neil Watson, unearths the skeletons of a woman and a newborn baby in the cellar of an ancient merchant's house nearby.

As they begin to investigate the murders, Wesley starts to suspect that these deaths, centuries apart, may be linked by age-old motives of jealousy and sexual obsession. And the pressure is on if he is going to prevent a further tragedy . . .

What readers are saying about Kate Ellis:

'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The Times

'Haunting' Independent

' I loved this novel . . . a powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann Cleeves

' I couldn't stop turning the pages... Something about this book just hooked me!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Unputdownable' Bookseller

'The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end' Closer

'A really good read... could not put it down. I bought the second book as soon as I finished this one!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A fine storyteller, weaving the past and present in a way that makes you want to read on' Peterborough Evening Telegraph

'Very well put together and still managed to surprise me at the end - highly recommended' In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

'You'll fall in love with coastal England and find yourself walking the cobbled lanes in your imagination . . . Do not miss this series!' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780749952754
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 07/09/2010
Series: Wesley Peterson Series , #1
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 713,048
Product dimensions: 4.30(w) x 6.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Kate Ellis was born and brought up in Liverpool and studied drama in Manchester. She is the author of the Wesley Peterson murder mysteries, as well as the Albert Lincoln trilogy and the Joe Plantagenet mysteries.

In 2019 Kate was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for the second time. She has also twice been shortlisted for CWA Short Story Dagger.

Visit her online at: www.kateellis.co.uk

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"A lively, unfancy prose style, an absorbing story, and believable characters make for a praiseworthy debut."  —Kirkus Reviews

"An exciting blend of historical and present-day police procedural . . . Peterson's skill and intuition make this is an involving, adventurous, nicely detailed work for all collections."  —Library Journal

"A strong police procedural featuring some distinctly nonstereotypical characters . . . will appeal to fans of Triss Stein's Digging Up Death or Beverly Connor's Lindsay Chamberlain series."  —Booklist

"Good straightforward story-telling with lots of interesting characters, pleasant humor, and a nicely done setting."  —Birmingham Post

"Fascinating first novel . . . mixes a 17th-century mystery with a present day one to good effect."  —Bookseller

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Merchant's House: The Wesley Peterson Series: Book 1 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
MaraBlaise More than 1 year ago
Detective Sergeant Wesley Peterson investigate the death of a young woman linked to a missing child case on his first day after being transferred from London to Tradmouth in South Devon. Meanwhile his friend Neil Watson finds a dead woman in an archaeological excavation. The woman died several centuries ago and it seems that she was murdered. Oddly enough seems it to be strange similarities with the two cases... I read and loved The Death Season, book 19 in this series in the beginning of this year. And, so I decided to buy the first book in the series to get to know Wesley Peterson and the rest of the characters in the book from the beginning. The crime in this book was not as complicated as it was in The Death Season, it was easy to figure out how it all had happened. I prefer to read a story with a lot of twist in it. Reading a book and guessing correctly most of what will happen is just not that fun. What made this story a bit better is that Wesley Peterson also has a degree in archaeology and while he and his colleagues is trying to solve the death of a young woman is he and his friend Neil who is working as an archaeology trying to find out who killed a young woman several centuries ago. I like the fact that Kate Ellis both writes about modern crime and at the same time her books with Wesley Peterson also have some archaeology in it. This book may not have been as good as The Death Season, but I will continue to read the series!