The Man Who Never Was

The Man Who Never Was

by Peter E Murphy


$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


The Man Who Never Was was a failed TV show from the late Sixties whose protagonist was a spy named Peter Murphy. The poems in The Man Who Never Was borrow the titles of the show’s 19 episodes and explore identities, politics, lies (Sorry, that’s redundant), and personal mythology while shamelessly punning and quoting from Murphy’s Law, The Peter Principle, The Dropkick Murphys and the English post-punk-godfather of Goth, Peter Murphy. If that weren’t enough, the poems test the reader’s patience by alluding to celebrities such as Lance Armstrong, Robert Blake, James Gandolfini, Greta Garbo, Samuel Johnson, Dee Dee Ramone, Jada Pinkett-Smith and others born on the author’s birthday, September 18, as well as Daj Hammarskjöld and Jimi Hendrix who died on that same date. What a mess.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781947021617
Publisher: Unsolicited Press
Publication date: 11/20/2018
Pages: 54
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.11(d)

About the Author

Peter E. Murphy was born in Wales and grew up in New York City where he operated heavy equipment, managed a nightclub and drove a taxi. He is the author of ten books and chapbooks including Stubborn Child, a finalist for the Paterson Poetry Prize, and Looking for Thelma, winner of the inaugural Wilt Nonfiction Chapbook Prize. He is the founder of Murphy Writing of Stockton University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews