The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories

The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories

by Ian Watson, Ian Whates

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Every short story in this wonderfully varied collection has one thing in common: each features some alteration in history, some divergence from historical reality, which results in a world very different from the one we know today. As well as original stories specially commissioned from bestselling writers such as James Morrow, Stephen Baxter and Ken MacLeod, there are genre classics such as Kim Stanley Robinson's story of how World War II atomic bomber the Enola Gay, having crashed on a training flight, is replaced by the Lucky Strike with profoundly different consequences.

Praise for the editors:

'Mr Watson wreaks havoc with what is accepted - and acceptable.' The Times

'One of Britain's consistently finest science fiction writers.' New Scientist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849014281
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 02/25/2010
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 608
Sales rank: 260,171
File size: 675 KB

About the Author

Ian Watson is a veteran SF author. He co-edited Changes: Stories of Metamorphosis with Michael Bishop, and Afterlives: Stories about Life after Death with Pamela Sargent. Ian Whates is a rising SF author who founded NewCon Press in 2006 to publish the original anthologies TimePieces, disLOCATIONS and, more recently, the all-women anthology Myth-Understandings, and also Celebration, a collection to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the British Science Fiction Association, of which he is Development Director as well as editor of its on-line news and reviews magazine Matrix.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews