The Lifeguard: Stories

The Lifeguard: Stories

by Mary Morris

Hardcover(Library Binding)

View All Available Formats & Editions


The Lifeguard combines Mary Morris's consummate craft as a storyteller with her gift for dramatic travel writing. In the title story, a teenage lifeguard sees his mystique among the girls on the beach dissolve in a panicked moment when he cannot save a child. In "The Glass-Bottom Boat," a mother on her first trip abroad learns about trust from a solicitous stranger. The Lifeguard is a powerful and haunting collection of ten short stories -- the fruits of a writer's talents at their peak.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780613163750
Publisher: San Val
Publication date: 04/28/1998
Pages: 180
Product dimensions: 5.78(w) x 8.06(h) x 0.74(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Mary Morris's books include the novels House Arrest, The Night Sky, Crossroads, and The Waiting Room; the travel memoirs Nothing to Declare and Wall to Wall; and the highly acclaimed story collections Vanishing Animals and Other Stories and The Bus of Dreams. A recipient of the Rome Prize for Literature, she teaches writing at Sarah Lawrence College and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Table of Contents

1.The Lifeguard1
2.The Wall17
3.Slice of Life35
4.The Lure45
6.The Snowmaker's Wife83
7.Around the World105
8.Losing Track120
9.The Moon Garden136
10.The Glass-Bottom Boat157

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews