The House On An Irish Hillside

The House On An Irish Hillside

by Felicity Hayes-McCoy


$15.26 $16.95 Save 10% Current price is $15.26, Original price is $16.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


'From the moment I crossed the mountain I fell in love. With the place, which was more beautiful than any place I'd ever seen. With the people I met there. And with a way of looking at life that was deeper, richer and wiser than any I'd known before. When I left I dreamt of clouds on the mountain. I kept going back.'
We all lead very busy lives and sometimes it's hard to find the time to be the people we want to be.
Twelve years ago Felicity Hayes-McCoy left the hectic pace of the city and returned to Ireland to make a new life in a remarkable house on the stunning Dingle peninsula.
Beautifully written, this is a life-affirming tale of rediscovering lost values and being reminded of the things that really matter.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781444730319
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, Ltd.
Publication date: 07/01/2013
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 329,352
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

Felicity Hayes-McCoy was born in Dublin, Ireland. She read English and Irish language and literature at UCD before moving to England in the 1970s to train at The Drama Studio, London. Her work as a writer includes television and radio drama, features, documentaries, dramatisations and adaptations; screenplays; music theatre; children's books, and interactive multimedia products.

She and her husband, opera director Wilfred Judd, live in Corca Dhuibhne and in Bermondsey, London. She blogs about life in both places on her website

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 The House on the Hillside 9

2 Crossing the Mountain 25

3 Kill a Calf, Kill a Cow 41

4 Circles 61

5 The Patient Goddess 87

6 The Way into the West 116

7 Building an Ark 142

8 A Good Floor for Dancing 163

9 Who You Are Is Where You Come From 190

10 Enough is Plenty 217

11 Nothing is Unimportant 243

12 Dancing Through Darkness 266

Afterword: The Music of What Happens 294

Acknowledgements 307

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews