The Heart of Joy (A Prairie Heritage, #8)

The Heart of Joy (A Prairie Heritage, #8)

by Vikki Kestell

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Denver, Colorado, 1914

Joy Michaels, grieving mother and widow, resides in an aging but remarkable Denver home: a beautiful, three-story Victorian/Queen Anne mansion resplendent with towers, turrets, peaks, and gables and known locally as Palmer House. Palmer House—a most extraordinary refuge for young women rescued from prostitution.

Joy and her mother, Rose Thoresen, share the responsibilities of ministering to and mentoring the young women who live under Palmer House's roof. But now Joy faces an agonizing decision: Should she remain true to the memory of her first love or open her heart to the possibility of new love?

"I will always love you, Grant," Joy whispered, "but God has called you away, and now I must follow the path he has laid before me—even if it is not what either of us would have chosen, had we been given such a choice."

A Prairie Heritage
Book 1: A Rose Blooms Twice
Book 2: Wild Heart on the Prairie
Book 3: Joy on This Mountain
Book 4: The Captive Within
Book 5: Stolen
Book 6: Lost Are Found
Book 7: All God's Promises
Book 8: The Heart of Joy—A Short Story (eBook only)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154716656
Publisher: Faith-Filled Fiction
Publication date: 07/01/2017
Series: A Prairie Heritage , #8
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 49,872
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Vikki Kestell has more than 20 years of career experience as a writing, instructional design, and communications professional in government, academia, semiconductor manufacturing, health care, and nonprofit organizations. She holds a Ph.D. in Organizational Learning and Instructional Technologies.

Vikki is an accomplished speaker and teacher and belongs to Tramway Community Church in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where she teaches an evening Bible study for working women. She and her husband Conrad Smith make their home in Albuquerque.

Faith-Filled Fiction: Vikki writes and publishes under the imprint of Faith-Filled Fiction(TM). To keep abreast of new book releases, visit her website,, or find her on Facebook,

Enjoy all the books of A Prairie Heritage as they become available:
Book 1: A Rose Blooms Twice
Book 2: Joy on This Mountain
Book 3: The Captive Within
Book 4: Wild Heart on the Prairie
Book 5: Stolen
Book 6: Lost Are Found, November 2014

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Heart of Joy (A Prairie Heritage Addendum, #8) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the Best Book Series I have Every read, I am an avid reader, The story is very addicting, Read a couple of the books in 2 days. I have cried many times reading this series, been in the very presence of El Shaddai. Love, Love, Love!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it was terribly sad and possibly unnecessary that Blackie died, this book is only a part of a much greater story. Don't just read this, start at book number one. I became so involved with this family, their story and their walk with God, I read the whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A note to the author - How could you let the dog die? That ruined it for me. I won't waste my money on any of your other books.