The Hamilton Affair: A Novel

The Hamilton Affair: A Novel

by Elizabeth Cobbs

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28

Overview

For fans of Hamilton and Lin-Manuel Miranda, here is the New York Times bestselling novel that Cosmopolitan called,A juicy answer to Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton.

Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American Revolution, and featuring a cast of legendary characters, historian and master storyteller Elizabeth Cobbs tells the sweeping, tumultuous, true story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler, from passionate and tender beginnings of their romance to his fateful duel on the banks of the Hudson River.

Alexander Hamilton was a bastard and orphan, raised in the Caribbean and desperate for legitimacy, who became one of the American Revolution's most dashing—and improbable—heroes. Admired by George Washington, scorned by Thomas Jefferson, Hamilton was a lightning rod: the most controversial leader of the new nation. Elizabeth Schuyler was the wealthy, beautiful, adventurous daughter of the respectable Schuyler clan—and a pioneering advocate for women. Together, the unlikely couple braved the dangers of war, the perils of seduction, the anguish of infidelity, and the scourge of partisanship that menaced their family and the country itself.

With flawless writing, brilliantly drawn characters, and fill with politics, scandal, adultery, and true love, this historical novel tells a story of love forged in revolution and tested by the bitter strife of young America, and will take its place among the greatest novels of American history ever written.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628728552
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 06/06/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 433
Sales rank: 17,491
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 5.50(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Elizabeth Cobbs is a historian, New York Times bestselling novelist, and documentary filmmaker. She is the author of four books on American history and a winner of the Allan Nevins Prize. Her novel Broken Promises: A Novel of the Civil War won the San Diego Book Award.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hamilton Affair 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It's hard to imagine living in that era, but the author created a vivid example of the time. I felt as if I was there. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written. The only critique I have is that the story ended. This is one of those "stay up til 3am to finish even though you have to be up at 6am to get ready for work." Well worth dark circles under my eyes!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no idea there was so much animosity between the Founding Fathers! It's a wonder this country made it out of the cradle!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not too enthused about the hopping around with time and characters in first part of book or the instant falling in love of Eliza for Hamilton Other than those complaints , it is an interesting read, full of war time history,different views of heroes. More history than personalities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had never stopped to think about all the intricacies of setting up a new country, -especially the need to create a new currency . Both Alexander and Eliza contributed a great deal to the establishment of the U.S.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well laid out, entertaining as well as informative. An enjoyable, fast paced read.
Anonymous 12 months ago
The historical detail of this biography is very engaging and the writing style quite easy to read. All together this book is an excellent read for those looking for Revolutionary Era biographies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written about the struggles of early America. Very intimate picture of the Hamiltons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this an easy but informative recounting of Alexander Hamilton’s life. Although a work of fiction it held many true aspects of his and his wife’s life. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters of the people who founded our country come to life vividly. Incivility in politics didn't start in our generation. I learned some things about this time period, while enjoying a good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was very well done, and put a whole different light on our past, and the men who started our country.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read, thoroughly enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What opposition he suffer! He has had so much bad press. I am glad he is finna Glad he is finally being recognized.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book to compliment the Broadway play
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book and he is someone I wanted to know more about. A nice historical read, but it made him more real and human.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Personally, I was bored by the portrayal of the war. I wanted more of the affair and his marriage. But that’s just me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delightful book and easy to read! I ended up re-learning a little history too! Elizabeth Cobb brought to life these two historical characters (Eliza & Hamm) that you can totally relate to, and end up falling in love with both. A fun read for our book club this month with a lot to discuss!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago