The Golden Boy of Crime: The Almost Certainly True Story of Norman

The Golden Boy of Crime: The Almost Certainly True Story of Norman "Red" Ryan

by Jim Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For readers of The Devil in the White City and The Massey Murder, the incredible story of Norman “Red” Ryan—“the Jesse James of Canada” and the “Kardashian” of the 1920s and ’30s

Dubbed “the Jesse James of Canada,” Norman “Red” Ryan was infamous in the 1920s and ’30s until he was gunned down in an attempted robbery in Sarnia, Ontario. Ernest Hemingway wrote about Ryan’s escape from Kingston Penitentiary for the Toronto Star, Morley Callaghan based a novel on him and stories of Ryan and his crimes filled newspapers and airwaves. One of the first Canadians to be granted parole, he was held up by Prime Minister R. B. Bennett as a model of rehabilitation and became a regular guest at Toronto police picnics. All the while, however, Ryan was continuing a crime spree on the side.

Jim Brown, filmmaker and CBC Radio host, tells the incredible true story of “Red” Ryan, a larger-than-life criminal whose fame and legend were much encouraged by the media—he was the “Kardashian” of the time—and whose story endures.

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781443450119
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
File size: 17 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Jim Brown has been a journalist for more than 30 years. He is best known for his work on CBC Radio, most recently as host of the weekly current affairs program The 180. Prior to joining the CBC, Jim worked as a newspaper reporter and magazine editor. His first film, Radiant City, won the Genie Award for best documentary in 2008 and was named one of the 10 best films of the year at the Toronto International Film Festival. The Golden Boy of Crime is his first book.  

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Red 1

Chapter 2 Almost Everything 17

Chapter 3 The Undead 25

Chapter 4 Red 2 37

Chapter 5 Based on a True Story 63

Chapter 6 Poetic Truth 73

Chapter 7 Red 3 87

Chapter 8 Why History? 113

Chapter 9 Footnotes 123

Chapter 10 Red 4 131

Chapter 11 Creepy 149

Chapter 12 Red 5 157

Chapter 13 Toronto The Good 175

Chapter 14 Red 6 193

Chapter 15 Little Red Lies 213

Chapter 16 Hindmarsh 223

Chapter 17 More Joy 243

Chapter 18 Alonzo 255

Acknowledgements 267

Illustration Credits 269

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews