The Gallery

The Gallery

by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Overview

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties!

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household—specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there’s more to the story—and that the paintings in the Sewell’s gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what’s really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author’s note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142427705
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 06/06/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 151,172
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 10 Years

About the Author

Laura Marx Fitzgerald studied art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. Her first book for young readers, Under the Egg, won the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association’s Middle Grade Book of the Year award. Laura lives in Montclair, New Jersey.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 2
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Gallery"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Laura Marx Fitzgerald.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Gallery 1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horribke worst ever beginning