The Fourfold Gospel: Volume 2, The Beginning

The Fourfold Gospel: Volume 2, The Beginning

by Edwin A. Abbott


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


Edwin A. Abbott (1838-1926) was a British headmaster and theological scholar best known as the author of Flatland, an 1884 novella which was influential in the development of science fiction. Originally published in 1914, this book forms section 2 of a 5 volume work by Abbott on the four canonical gospels and the relationship between them. Taken together, the five volumes constitute part 10 of the Diatessarica, a series dealing with the gospels and their interpretation. This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in biblical criticism and theology.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781107418424
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 07/24/2014
Pages: 482
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.07(d)

Table of Contents

Introduction; 1. The beginning of the gospel; 2. John baptizing the people; 3. John preaching or prophesying; 4. The baptism of Jesus; 5. The temptation; 6. Journeying into Gallilee; 7. Jesus beginning to 'preach'; Appendix 1. Nazarence and Nazoraean; Appendix 2. The disciple that was 'known unto the high priest'; Appendix 3. The interpretation of early Christian poetry.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews