The Fourfold Gospel: Volume 1, Introduction

The Fourfold Gospel: Volume 1, Introduction

by Edwin A. Abbott


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


Edwin A. Abbott (1838-1926) was a British headmaster and theological scholar best known as the author of Flatland, an 1884 novella which was influential in the development of science fiction. Originally published in 1913, this book forms section 1 of a 5 volume work by Abbott on the four canonical gospels and the relationship between them. Taken together, the five volumes constitute part 10 of the Diatessarica, a series dealing with the gospels and their interpretation. This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in biblical criticism and theology.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781107418417
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 07/24/2014
Pages: 194
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.45(d)

Table of Contents

References and abbreviations; 1. The object of this treatise; 2. Which gospel should stand first?; 3. Which gospel should stand last?; 4. Allusions in John to Mark; 5. The course of procedure; 6. 'Paraleipomena' or 'things omitted'; 7. Order and arrangement in Hebrew histories; 8. Order and arrangement in Mark; 9. Order and arrangement in Matthew; 10. Order and arrangement in Luke; 11. Order and arrangement in John.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews