The Family Book of Midrash: 52 Jewish Stories from the Sages

The Family Book of Midrash: 52 Jewish Stories from the Sages

by Barbara Diamond Goldin


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


This collection gives the reader a taste of the thousands of stories one can find in the treasure house of rabbinic literature. Some of these stories are humorous, some mysteriuos, some tense with drama or adventure, some filled with the joy of a miracle and the beauty of faith. All of these stories come from either the Talmud or the Midrash. This collection shows that these rabbinical stories are not old and outdated, but alive and timeless, for future generations to continue to enjoy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780742552852
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 09/27/2006
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.04(h) x 0.39(d)

About the Author

Barbara Diamond Goldin is currently the youth librarian in a public library. She is the recipient of the Sydney Taylor Body-of-Work Award from the Association of Jewish Libraries for her significant contribution to Jewish children's literature. She is the author of many works of fiction and non-fiction.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Introduction Chapter 2 The Animals in the Ark Chapter 3 How Dishonesty Entered the Ark Chapter 4 Pharaoh's Crown Chapter 5 Moses' Staff Chapter 6 Why God Chose Mount Sinai Chapter 7 The Most Precious Gift Chapter 8 Moses Visits Akiva Chapter 9 The Women's Reward Chapter 10 The Widow's Gold Chapter 11 David and the Spiderweb Chapter 12 The Wind, the Widow, and Solomon Chapter 13 The Tower in the Sea Chapter 14 Solomon and the Demon King Chapter 15 The Tower in the Sea Chapter 16 Alexander's Lesson Chapter 17 Never Too Poor to Study Torah Chapter 18 A Test of Hillel's Patience Chapter 19 Learning Torah on One Foot Chapter 20 Honi the Circle Maker Chapter 21 Honi and the Carob Tree Chapter 22 Nicanor's Doors Chapter 23 Rabbi Johanan's Escape Chapter 24 The Argument Chapter 25 A Thief in the Night Chapter 26 The Goats That Once Were Chickens Chapter 27 The Hallahs Chapter 28 A Banquet for God Chapter 29 To Look at God Chapter 30 The Emperor's Daughter and the Wine Vessels Chapter 31 The Rich Man's Son Chapter 32 Rachel and Akiva Chapter 33 The Candle, the Donkey, and the Rooster Chapter 34 Prove It Chapter 35 Like a Fish Out of Water Chapter 36 A Little Grain Chapter 37 Both Good and Evil Chapter 38 My Brother Ki Tov Chapter 39 Better a Change Than Death Chapter 40 Rabbi Shimon, the Cave, and the Carob Tree Chapter 41 A Wife's Love Chapter 42 Elisha and the Dove Chapter 43 Rabbi Hama's Son Chapter 44 Judah and Antoninus Chapter 45 The Missing Ingredient Chapter 46 Rabbi Joshua and the Messiah Chapter 47 The Pious Cow Chapter 48 One More Try Chapter 49 The Clever Thief Chapter 50 The Will Chapter 51 The Best Merchandise Chapter 52 Leviathan and Fox Chapter 53 A Man of Good Deeds Chapter 54 The Brothers of Ashkelon Chapter 55 Glossary Chapter 56 Bibliography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews