The Essential Sade

The Essential Sade

by Sade


$13.53 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.53, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


A re-release of 2011's The Ultimate Collection, The Essential Sade contains all but two of the Sade singles -- "When Am I Going to Make a Living" and, unfortunately, "Turn My Back on You" -- released through the first six studio albums. There are six well-chosen album cuts, highlighted by the exceptionally spacious Love Deluxe ballads "Bullet Proof Soul" and "Pearls." For some Sade followers, the one rarity (a restrained Neptunes mix of "By Your Side") and four new songs will be enough to justify re-acquiring the old material. The best of the new songs is a cover of Thin Lizzy's anguished ballad "Still in Love with You," a surprising but strikingly appropriate choice that is granted a hint of sweetness. On the opposite end, a remix of Soldier of Love's "The Moon and the Sky," featuring Jay-Z, marks Sade's first and hopefully last collaboration with an MC. The greater part of this two-hour anthology condenses a rich catalog of impeccably sophisticated and subtly stimulating pop, from 1984's seductive "Your Love Is King" to 2009's chilling "Soldier of Love."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2014
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888430347526
catalogNumber: 303475
Rank: 14534

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sade   Primary Artist,Strings,Horn
Sade Adu   Vocals,Group Member
Terry Bailey   Trumpet
Pete Beachill   Trombone
Paul S. Denman   Bass,Group Member
Martin Ditcham   Percussion,Drums
Dave Early   Percussion,Drums
Andrew Hale   Keyboards,Group Member
Gordon Hunte   Guitar
Jake Jacas   Vocals
Noel Langley   Trumpet
Peter Lewinson   Drums
Stuart Matthewman   Guitar,Saxophone,Group Member
Leroy Osbourne   Guitar,Vocals
Paul Cooke   Drums
Simon Hale   Conductor
Gordon Matthewman   Trumpet
Tony Pleeth   Cello,Soloist
Karl Van Den Bossche   Percussion
Everton Nelson   Violin
Tony Momrelle   Vocals
Ian Burdge   Cello
Ryan Waters   Guitar
Clay Matthewman   Vocals
Ila Adu   Vocals
Ben Travers   Guitar

Technical Credits

Sade   Arranger,Producer
Phil Lynott   Composer
Sade Adu   Composer,Programming,Lyricist
Roger Davies   Management
Paul S. Denman   Composer
Martin Ditcham   Composer
Isobel Griffiths   Contracting
Andrew Hale   Composer,Programming
Stuart Matthewman   Composer,Programming
Robin Millar   Producer
Mike Pela   Producer,Engineer
Ben Rogan   Producer,Engineer
Simon Hale   Orchestral Arrangements
40   Instrumentation
Nick Ingham   String Arrangements
Andrew Nicholls   Composer,Pre-production Engineer
Gavin Wright   Orchestra Leader
Noah Shebib   Producer,Engineer
Gary Thomas   Engineer
Raymond St. John   Composer
Gimel "Young Guru" Keaton   Engineer
Noel Cadastre   Engineer
Helen Adu   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews