The Daughter In Law: A gripping new psychological thriller

The Daughter In Law: A gripping new psychological thriller

by Nina Manning

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

'Compelling and claustrophobic, Nina is an exciting new voice and definitely one to watch' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Girl Next Door

'Chilling and creepy. An atmospheric and addictive debut.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Guilty Mother

No one is good enough for her son…
As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding?
She’ll protect him with her life…When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding…

A gripping, psychological page-turner, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K.L. Slater.

'Totally addictive. I couldn't put it down!' Darren O'Sullivan, author of Closer Than You Think


'A claustrophobic, nail-biting thriller that draws you in and doesn't let go.' Naomi Joy, author of The Liars

‘Clever, emotionally draining and totally gripping. I absolutely loved this book!’ D E White, author of Remember Me

What readers are saying about The Daughter In Law:
'I give this book 5 Wows!'

'Absolutely fantastic had me gripped!!! Loved it! Can't wait for more from this author.'

'5 stars! What a great book!'

'This did not disappoint. Lots of twists and turns and I loved the ending. Cannot wait to read more from this author.'

'There is quite a few twistsin this story but the biggest twist is the one at the end and I didn’t have a clue.'

'A ridiculously good book. I loved every single page and couldn't put it down.'

'Fantastic, creepy, dark and chilling.'

'This book was excellent!'

Fast paced, with twists and some turns you can see coming this is the perfect beach read.'

'A page turner that I couldn’t put down!!!'

'I couldn't put it down'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781838892180
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Publication date: 08/01/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 71,048
File size: 506 KB

About the Author

Nina Manning studied psychology and was a restaurant-owner and private chef (including to members of the royal family). She is the founder and co-host of Sniffing The Pages, a book review podcast. The Daughter in Law is her debut psychological thriller, and was published in August 2019. She lives in Dorset.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Daughter in Law 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Nycol 4 months ago
The Daughter in Law is an exciting, suspenseful thriller by Nina Manning. Annie is a single mother who thinks no one is good enough for her Ben. Ben brings his new wife, Daisy, home to meet Annie and there’s instant tension. Annie misses Ben and will stop at nothing to reclaim her close relationship with her him, even if that means exposing the truths she found out about her daughter in law. Does Daisy have something to hide from Ben and Annie? Is Annie too overprotective? I really liked the pacing of this book. It was unpredictable, twisty and dark. You’ll find yourself second guessing everything you believe you know about the main characters. Manning challenges us to read between the lines and arrive at a riveting truth hidden beneath. I received a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley for my honest review. Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Annie inherited her violent, drunken father’s seaside home when he passed away. This is where single mother, Annie, brought up her son, Ben. Annie has always kept him close and loved their life together - just the two of them. Now, Ben has secretly married a woman named Daisy who became pregnant early in their relationship. When Ben brings Daisy to meet Annie, it’s not a warm meeting. Ben is a musician working small gigs here and there. When he gets offered a job in Scotland to record an album with a band, he is thrilled. The problem is he will be away for several months, but hopes to be home be the time the baby is born. Ben wants Daisy to stay with his mother while he is gone. Daisy doesn’t like it but ends up agreeing. A gas explosion at the apartment that she had shared with her best friend killed her friend and destroyed all of her belongings. Now, she definitely must stay with Annie. Tortured with grief at the loss of her friend and the absence of her husband, Daisy spirals down with only Annie to care for her. Daisy soon realizes that Annie may not be who she thinks she is, but the woman is very overpowering and Daisy finds herself falling down the rabbit hole. The story has flashbacks to Annie’s earlier life and Daisy’s earlier life. What did each of them do that they are trying to keep secret? I enjoyed this book very much. It dragged a bit for me in the beginning, but that’s probably because it was setting the stage for Daisy’s depressed feelings. However, it certainly picks up quickly and is a story that will keep readers glued right up to the last page. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.