The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings

The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings

by Tony Bennett

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$104.49 $109.99 Save 5% Current price is $104.49, Original price is $109.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23


Having completed his relatively brief sojourn with MGM/Verve with 1973's Listen Easy, Tony Bennett was in the midst of forming his own label, Improv Records, when he made a deal with jazz pianist Bill Evans to cut two LPs: The Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Album and Together Again. (The first would be for Evans' label, Fantasy Records, the second to follow on Improv.) The singer and his collaborator -- "accompanist" does not adequately describe Evans' contribution, and in any case he received co-billing -- got together in a recording studio over four days in June 1975 with no one other than the producer, Helen Keane and an engineer present, and quickly recorded two of the best albums of either's career. For Bennett, it was a dream project; for years (decades, actually), he had been balancing the demands of commerciality with his own inclinations toward jazz and affection for the songs of Broadway masters and of the Great American Songbook. Left to himself with a jazz partner, he naturally gravitated toward both interests. There were songs here that he had already recorded, but never in so unadorned and yet fully realized a fashion. Evans was an excellent accompanist, using his steady left hand to keep his singer centered, but ready, whenever the vocals were finished, to go off into his characteristically lyrical playing. Bennett could seem a bit earthbound when he came back in (he still wasn't really a jazz singer), but his obvious enthusiasm for the project, coupled with his mastery of phrasing in songs he understood perfectly made him an equal in the partnership. As far as the major-label record business was concerned, the 46-year-old singer might have been over the hill and indulging himself, but in fact he was in his prime and finally able to pursue his ambitions unfettered, and that would prove itself a major boost to his career over time. For the moment, he'd made an excellent jazz-pop hybrid in which both musicians were shown off to advantage. [Complete was re-released on LP in 2015.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2015
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072364530
catalogNumber: 36453
Rank: 84187


Disc 1

  1. Young and Foolish
  2. The Touch of Your Lips
  3. Some Other Time
  4. When in Rome
  5. We'll Be Together Again
  6. My Foolish Heart
  7. Waltz for Debby
  8. But Beautiful
  9. Days of Wine and Roses

Disc 2

  1. The Bad and the Beautiful
  2. Lucky to Be Me
  3. Make Someone Happy
  4. You're Nearer
  5. A Child Is Born
  6. The Two Lonely People
  7. You Don't Know What Love Is
  8. Maybe September
  9. Lonely Girl
  10. You Must Believe in Spring

Disc 3

  1. Who Can I Turn To?
  2. Dream Dancing
  3. Young and Foolish
  4. The Touch of Your Lips
  5. Some Other Time
  6. When in Rome
  7. Waltz for Debby
  8. The Bad and the Beautiful
  9. The Bad and the Beautiful
  10. Make Someone Happy
  11. You're Nearer
  12. A Child Is Born
  13. A Child Is Born

Disc 4

  1. The Two Lonely People
  2. You Don't Know What Love Is
  3. You Don't Know What Love Is
  4. Maybe September
  5. Maybe September
  6. Lonely Girl e
  7. You Must Believe in Spring
  8. You Must Believe in Spring
  9. Who Can I Turn To

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews