The Captive Within (A Prairie Heritage, Book 4)

The Captive Within (A Prairie Heritage, Book 4)

by Vikki Kestell


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Faith-Filled Fiction at Its Best!
The Captive Within picks up the day after Joy on This Mountain ends. The two infamous houses of Corinth, Colorado, are closed and the young women who had been imprisoned there have been released. Rose and Joy leave Corinth to establish a home and a haven for "their" girls in Denver.

Before long, Rose and Joy face a heartbreaking challenge: What does it take to unlock and free the soul of a defiled woman? And as they wrestle for a foothold in Denver, Rose discovers that the long-abandoned house given to them hides a dark secret of its own.

A Prairie Heritage:
Book 1: A Rose Blooms Twice
Book 2: Wild Heart on the Prairie
Book 3: Joy on This Mountain
Book 4: The Captive Within
Book 5: Stolen
Book 6: Lost Are Found
Book 7: All God's Promises
Book 8: The Heart of Joy-A Short Story (eBook Only)

"Vikki writes the kind of faith-filled fiction that hooks you within the first few pages, will not let you go until you have finished, and leaves you wishing for more."
-Janis Braun, Seattle, Washington

"Her books are not just for 'chicks'! I was amazed how engrossed I became in the lives of Vikki's characters, and how much I could relate to their situations."
-Ed Dunne, Los Angeles

"Be prepared to put life on hold. That's all I have to say!"
-Rebecca H., New Jersey

"You will laugh, you will cry but, most of all, you will be uplifted."
-LaTisha Holland, St. Augustine, FL

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780982445754
Publisher: Growing Up in God
Publication date: 09/30/2013
Series: A Prairie Heritage , #4
Pages: 286
Sales rank: 1,075,058
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Vikki Kestell's passion for people and their stories is evident in her readers' affection for her characters and unusual plotlines. Two often repeated sentiments are, "I feel like I know these people" and "I'm right there, in the book, experiencing what the characters experience."

Vikki holds a Ph.D. in Organizational Learning and Instructional Technologies. She left a career of twenty-plus years in government, academia, and corporate life to pursue writing full time. "Writing is the best job ever," she admits, "and the most demanding."

Also an accomplished speaker and teacher, Vikki and her husband Conrad Smith make their home in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
To keep abreast of new book releases, visit her website,, or find her on Facebook,

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Captive Within: (A Prairie Heritage, Book 3) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I greatly enjoy this series. While the subject matter is difficult, there is joy and love abounding. I love that God's love and forgiveness plays a huge part in the stories. ***** esk 11/2018 *****
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to start the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vikki is an excellent writter!! She has created a truly unique and awe inspiring series and I just love her work .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wfnren More than 1 year ago
This series just keeps getting better and better! ! ! ! !  --   Although this book kind of strayed off of the Thoresen family, don't get me wrong Joy and Rose are still very much in the story, I still found the book compelling. It is amazing what Joy and Rose are able to do for the 'abused' women in that day and time, and such faith they have even when things don't look good. I like that Vikki has Rose writing in a journal and we get to know her feelings and just reading those entries can encourage a person in their own faith. I was so anxious to read the next book that I'm half done with it and I'm just now writing the review for this one. I so encourage you to read this series, it is turning into something I totally did not expect. Not only am I half done with Stolen, which I can hardly put down, I have to purchase the sixth one in the series, Lost Are Found!