The Bell Elkins Series, Thus Far: A Killing in the Hills, Bitter River, Summer of the Dead, and Last Ragged Breath

The Bell Elkins Series, Thus Far: A Killing in the Hills, Bitter River, Summer of the Dead, and Last Ragged Breath

by Julia Keller

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


In her powerful, intricate Bell Elkins series, Pulitzer-Prize winning journalist Julia Keller weaves haunting mysteries against the stark beauty and extreme poverty of a small West Virginia mountain town. Here together for the first time in an eBook bundle are her critically acclaimed Bell Elkins novels:

A Killing in the Hills

When prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins’s daughter, Carla, witnesses a shooting at a local diner, she realizes that she might be able to identify the shooter. What better way to repair a fragile, damaged relationship with her mother than to help her do her job?

Bitter River

16-year-old Lucinda Trimble’s body is found at the bottom of Bitter River—but she didn’t drown, she was dead before she hit the water. Searching for the truth behind both Lucinda's murder and her own complicated relationships leads Bell down a path that puts her life at risk.

Summer of the Dead

Bell Elkins and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong are stymied by a murderer who seems to come and go like smoke on the mountain. Meanwhile Lindy Crabtree, a coal miner's daughter, is keeping dark secrets of her own, secrets that threaten to explode into even more violence.

Last Ragged Breath

Royce Dillard doesn't remember much about the day his parents—and one hundred and twenty-three other souls—died in the 1972 Buffalo Creek disaster. Now Dillard is fighting for his life one more time: He's on trial for murder. Prosecutor Bell Elkins faces her toughest challenge yet in this haunting story of vengeance, greed and the fierce struggle for social justice.

Included along with these full-length novels are Julia Keller’s compelling Bell Elkins stories, The Devil’s Stepdaughter, A Haunting of the Bones, Ghost Roll, and Evening Street.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250108043
Publisher: St. Martin''s Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/08/2016
Series: Bell Elkins Novels
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 1746
Sales rank: 238,667
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

JULIA KELLER spent twelve years as a reporter and editor for the Chicago Tribune, where she won a Pulitzer Prize. A recipient of a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University, she was born in West Viriginia and lives in Chicago and Ohio. She is the author of the Bell Elkins series (A Killing in the Hills, Bitter River, Summer of the Dead).
Julia Keller, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and former cultural critic at the Chicago Tribune, is the author of many books for adults and young readers, including A Killing in the Hills, the first book in the Bell Elkins series and winner of the Barry Award for Best First Novel (2013); Back Home; and The Dark Intercept. Keller has a Ph.D. in English literature from Ohio State and was awarded Harvard University’s Nieman Fellowship. She was born in West Virginia and lives in Ohio.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews