The Absolutely Essential 3 CD Collection

The Absolutely Essential 3 CD Collection

by Doris Day


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


Although she is chiefly known for her movie career, which took off in the late '50s, and pop songs like "Secret Love" and "Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)" she recorded concurrently with her screen success, Doris Day was a consummate big-band vocalist in the '40s, and her musical legacy as a singer ultimately begins with those recordings, which will startle and amaze those who are only familiar with her later pop fare. But it is those subsequent pop hits, many of which came from the soundtracks of movies, that gave her career such an amazingly productive (and graceful) longevity. Make no mistake, she could sing, and she came from the first generation of singers to truly understand the nuance of singing on studio microphones, which gives her vocals depth, clarity, and an uncommon presence. This three-disc set collects key tracks she recorded for Columbia Records during her long association with the label, which means it deftly bridges her early big-band work with the later pop sides, making it a nice introduction to a gently innovative singer and a high-points summary of her early and middle years as a recording artist.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2011
Label: Ais
UPC: 0805520130301
catalogNumber: 2013030
Rank: 24906


Disc 1

  1. Blame My Absent-Minded Heart
  2. Hold Me in Your Arms
  3. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  4. If I Were a Bell
  5. I Got the Sun in the Morning
  6. Again
  7. It's Magic
  8. It Could Happen to You
  9. The Best Thing for You
  10. It's Better to Conceal Than Reveal
  11. It Had to Be You
  12. Do Do Do
  13. I Know That You Know
  14. Everywhere You Go
  15. Secret Love
  16. Sentimental Journey
  17. Aren't You Glad You're You?
  18. If I Give My Heart to You
  19. Hoop-Dee-Doo
  20. Domino

Disc 2

  1. Autumn Leaves
  2. Imagination
  3. It's a Great Feeling
  4. Enjoy Yourself (It's Later Than You Think)
  5. It's a Lovely Day Today
  6. It's You or No One
  7. A Full Time Job
  8. If You Were the Only Girl in the World
  9. But Beautiful
  10. I've Never Been in Love Before
  11. I'll Be Around
  12. Let's Take an Old-Fashioned Walk
  13. But Not for Me
  14. Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)
  15. (Why Did I Tell You I Was Going to) Shanghai
  16. Let's Face the Music and Dance
  17. Pillow Talk
  18. A Bushel and a Peck
  19. Love Me or Leave Me
  20. I Didn't Know What Time It Was

Disc 3

  1. Day by Day
  2. I May Be Wrong (But I Think You're Wonderful)
  3. I Didn't Slip, I Wasn't Pushed, I Fell
  4. The Black Hills of Dakota
  5. I'm Not at All in Love
  6. Gently Johnny
  7. Love Somebody
  8. I'll See You in My Dreams
  9. Sugarbush
  10. Confess
  11. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  12. The Deadwood Stage
  13. Cheek to Cheek
  14. I'll Never Stop Loving You
  15. It All Depends on You
  16. Crazy Rhythm
  17. Gone with the Wind
  18. Everybody Loves a Lover
  19. Pennies from Heaven
  20. Over the Rainbow

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doris Day   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Jay Livingston   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Jacques Prévert   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Allie Wrubel   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews