Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press
Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature / Edition 6

Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature / Edition 6

by C. S. Lewis, Walter Hooper


Current price is , Original price is $25.99. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.


An important collection of essays by Lewis on the Medieval and Renaissance periods, with special concentration on Dante and Spenser.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521645843
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 10/28/1998
Series: Canto Series
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 195
Product dimensions: 5.43(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.63(d)

About the Author

C.S. Lewis (1898-1963) was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic, essayist, theologian, broadcaster, and lecturer. He is best known for his fictional works, including The Screwtape Letters, The Space Trilogy, and The Chronicles of Narnia. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, the second book in the seven-book Narnia series, often tops must-read lists of classic children's literature; the series has been adapted for film, radio, TV, and the stage.

Date of Birth:

November 29, 1898

Date of Death:

November 22, 1963

Place of Birth:

Belfast, Nothern Ireland

Place of Death:

Headington, England


Oxford University 1917-1923; Elected fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford in 1925

Table of Contents

Preface Walter Hooper; 1. De Audiendis Poetis; 2. The genesis of a medieval book; 3. Imagination and thought in the Middle Ages; 4. Dante's similes; 5. Imagery in the last eleven cantos of Dante's Comedy; 6. Dante's statius; 7. The Morte d'Arthur; 8. Tasso; 9. Edmund Spenser, 1552–99; 10. On reading The Faerie Queene; 11. Neoplatonism in the poetry of Spenser; 12. Spenser's cruel Cupid; 13. Genius and genius; 14. A note on Comus; Additional editorial notes; Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews