Special Effects

Special Effects

by Tech N9ne


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Sticking to his guns with angry, soul-searching lyrics spewing out while the high-powered crossover collaborations fly about, Tech N9ne skillfully rides his career trajectory as it soars ever upwards with Special Effects, an album that's powerful more than purposeful, plus a therapy session where all the party people can sing along. After literally drilling into the underground rapper's head during the intro, the album rolls out with a series of hard-hitting solo cuts, most produced by house beatmaker Seven and some featuring a Gospel choir, because that's the stately and dramatic way Tech rolls. Frequent collaborators and Strange Music regulars like Krizz Kaliko (featured on the Alice Cooper-like "Shroud") and Hopsin (guest growler on the bass-dropping highlight "Psycho Bitch III") appear before the album goes wandering into some weighty metal balladry with Slipknot's Corey Taylor on "Wither," then it moves into worthy radio material with 2 Chainz and B.o.B on the aptly titled electro-popper "Hood Go Crazy." Cramming Lil Wayne, Yo Gotti, and Big Scoob into one posse cut makes "Bass Ackwards" an easy pick, and it's another skillful moment from Seven when the minimal robot beat of "No K" bleeps and suits both E-40 and Krizz Kaliko. Kaliko is back for the odd Richie Havens-inspired jam and Eminem feature called "Speedom (Worldwide Choppers 2)," then the album turns back toward patented Strange Music heaviness with "A Certain Comfort" and "Burn It Down" being rock-rap of the highest order, while the woozy "Life Sentences" stretches out in that retro Funkadelic style. Among it all is the story-telling triumph of "Lacrimosa," a constantly weaving and swaying cut where the loss of the rapper's mother threatens to rip apart his psyche, along with his career. That's plenty of worthwhile music, but Special Effects ramps up to its most attractive moments and gives newcomers plenty to wade through. That said, the album doesn't even buckle with this all-star and ultra-ambitious weight, as the gifted Tech remains a great balancer of the very big and the very bold.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/04/2015
Label: Strange Music
UPC: 0853435003630
catalogNumber: 630
Rank: 28294

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tech N9ne   Primary Artist
E-40   Vocals
Luis Resto   Keyboards
Corey Taylor   Vocals
Big Scoob   Vocals
Eminem   Vocals
Lil Wayne   Vocals
Yo Gotti   Vocals
T.I.   Vocals
Oktane   Vocals
Zuse   Vocals
Chris Handley   Bass Guitar
Krizz Kaliko   Vocals
B.o.B   Vocals
Makzilla   Vocals
Michael "Seven" Summers   Guitar,Percussion,Toy Piano
Hopsin   Vocals
Crystal Watson   Vocals
Melissa Ramsey   Vocals
Ordained   Vocals
Ryan Bradley   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Marcus Yates   Vocals
Ben Cybulsky   Guitar,Bass Guitar
Ryan Lindberg   Shouts
2 Chainz   Vocals
Anthony Devera   Shouts
Gina McFadden   Vocals
Tyler Lyon   Guitar,Drums,Bass Guitar
Paula Saunders   Vocals
Mark Lowrey   Piano,fender rhodes
Liz Codd   Violin
Matt Steele   Vocals,Shouts
Sarah Romero   Vocals,Shouts
Michael Hollembeak   Shouts
Kerry Rounds   Vocals,Shouts
Lucas Parker   Acoustic Guitar
Kate Rose   Vocals
Joey Cool   Vocals
Gee Watts   Vocals
Alien Warr   Drums
Alexander Smith   Viola
Pricetag   Vocals
Oswald "Ozzie" Backus   Double Bass
Kami Woodard   Vocals
David Radzynski   Violin
Sunnat Ibragimov   Cello
Steven Lambert   Flute
Ram Swaminathan   Drums

Technical Credits

Richie Havens   Composer
Corey Taylor   Composer
Joseph Bishara   Composer,Producer
Earl Stevens   Composer
Marshall Mathers   Composer
John Cheatham   Vocal Engineer
Andy Rodriguez   Vocal Engineer
Maestro   Vocal Engineer
Krizz Kaliko   Composer
Richie Abbott   Publicity
Isaac Cates   Composer,Choir Arrangement
Michael "Seven" Summers   Producer
Michael Summers   Composer
Samuel Watson   Composer
Joe Strange   Vocal Engineer
Dwayne Carter   Composer
Travis O'Guin   Executive Producer
Ryan Bradley   Engineer
Mario Mims   Composer
Migui Maloles   Vocal Engineer
Joe Fitz   Vocal Engineer
Excision   Producer
Mike Strange   Vocal Engineer
Clarence Montgomery   Composer
Marcus Yates   Composer,Producer
Rob Prior   Art Direction
Elliot Carter   Vocal Engineer
Bobby Ray Simmons   Composer
Marcus Hopson   Composer
Freek Van Workum   Composer
Jeff Abel   Composer
Clifford Joseph Harris   Composer
Tauheed Epps   Composer
Shokhrukh Sadikov   String Arrangements
Steward D. Ashby   Composer
Larry Jacks   Composer
N4   Producer
Nick Luscombe   Composer
Ben "Bengineer" Cybulsky   Engineer
Lance William Bennett   Composer
Kathryn Caggianelli   Composer
Gary Watts   Composer
Cheikh Gordon   Composer
Taven Johnson   Composer
Ryan Bradley Greshock   Composer
Aaron Yates   Composer
Julian Brown   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews