Spain [Hybrid SACD]

Spain [Hybrid SACD]

by Leontyne Price, Fritz Reiner

SACD(Super Audio CD)


Since its early beginnings in 1953, RCA's Living Stereo sound has remained one of the most satisfying sound reproduction techniques, capturing the lush timbres and fiery characters of some of America's greatest orchestras and conductors. Now being re-released on SACD, these masterful recordings are finally able to be heard as they were recorded -- on multiple channels. This particular album features the music of Spanish composers de Falla, Albéniz, and Granados with the Chicago Symphony under Fritz Reiner. The orchestra brilliantly captures the sultry, sassy flair of "El amor brujo." Together with soprano Leontyne Price -- whose penetrating, throaty sound is ideally suited for this work -- Reiner and the CSO deliver a performance that draws listeners in from the beginning and leaves them wanting more by the end. Regrettably, the liner notes do not provide listeners with a text/translation, but such information is available on the Internet for those interested. The music of Albéniz and Granados, while performed with just as much fervor, is given a less comprehensive treatment than de Falla. Three brief movements from Albéniz's "Iberia" and one movement from "Goyescas" of Granados make it regrettable that this is not a two- or even three-disc set. Still, this album is sure to please and is deserving of a home in virtually any collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/23/2007
Label: Rca
UPC: 0886970460729
catalogNumber: 704607


  1. El Amor brujo, ballet for mezzo-soprano & orchestra in 1 act, G. 68 (revised version)

    1. Introduction and Scene  (00:36)
    2. In the Cave  (02:38)
    3. Song of Love's Sorrow  (01:48)
    4. The Ghost  (00:13)
    5. Dance of Terror  (01:55)
    6. The Magic Circle  (02:59)
    7. Midnight  (00:43)
    8. Ritual Fire Dance  (04:15)
    9. Scene  (01:04)
    10. Song of the Will-o'-the-Wisp  (01:46)
    11. Pantomime  (05:20)
    12. Dance of the Game of Love  (02:57)
    13. The Bells of Morning  (01:31)
  2. El Sombrero de tres picos, Suite No. 2, for orchestra (scenes and dances from Part II), G. 59

    1. The Neighbors' Dance  (03:20)
    2. The Miller's Dance  (02:40)
    3. Final Dance  (06:10)
  3. La Vida breve, opera, G. 35/39 (2 versions): Interlude

    1. Interlude  (02:56)
  4. La Vida breve, opera, G. 35/39 (2 versions): Dance

    1. Dance  (03:40)
  5. Iberia Suite for piano, B. 47, Book 2: Triana

    1. Triana  (05:05)
  6. Intermezzo, for orchestra (arrangement from Goyescas), H. 71: Intermezzo

    1. Intermezzo  (05:40)
  7. Iberia Suite for piano, B. 47, Book 1: Fête-Dieu à Seville

    1. Fête-Dieu à Seville  (08:00)
  8. Iberia Suite for piano, B. 47, Book 4: Navarra

    1. Navarra  (05:39)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews