Songs for Slim: Rockin' Here Tonight: A Benefit Compilation for Slim Dunlap

Songs for Slim: Rockin' Here Tonight: A Benefit Compilation for Slim Dunlap



Bob "Slim" Dunlap was a longtime fixture on the Minneapolis rock scene, playing with the band Spooks and backing local hero Curtiss A, before he was invited to join the Replacements in 1987 after the departure of Bob Stinson and began earning some well-deserved recognition outside his hometown. After the Replacements broke up, Dunlap cut a pair of terrific solo albums -- 1993's The Old New Me and 1996's Times Like This -- that didn't sell well but rank with the very best recorded work from a former member of the 'Mats, and revealed that Dunlap was a sharp, witty songwriter with a big heart and an eye for life's little details. In February 2012, Dunlap suffered a severe stroke that has left him unable to play music and in need of constant medical care; a group of friends and admirers stepped up to release a series of limited-edition vinyl singles and EPs to raise money for Dunlap's expenses, and Songs for Slim: Rockin' Here Tonight features the cream of these benefit releases in digital format, along with a bonus disc of unreleased performances. Dunlap wrote 25 of the 28 tracks here, and one of the best things about this collection is that it gives his songs a richly deserved wider hearing than they received in the past; it's hard not to be impressed by Dunlap's way with a tune, his lyrics that offer a regular guy's take on the ups and downs of life and love, and his ability to sound clever and down to earth at the same time, and a few of these tunes could have improved the overall quality of the Replacements' Don't Tell a Soul or All Shook Down. Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson reunited as the 'Mats for the first Songs for Slim benefit EP, and their cover of "Busted Up" kicks off this sampler in sloppy but solid fashion, while former drummer Chris Mars contributes his one-man band version of "Radio Hook Word Hit" as well as an original tune about Dunlap, "When I Fall Down." Elsewhere, an impressive collection of roots rock heroes (Jeff Tweedy, Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Patterson Hood) and Minneapolis legends (Curtiss A with the Young Fresh Fellows, the Suicide Commandos with Frank Black on vocals) takes on Dunlap's tunes and just about everyone on board hits a bull's-eye, finding the heart and the attitude that lurk in Slim's music. Rockin' Here Tonight will hopefully raise some much-needed cash for a journeyman musician in need, but just as importantly, these performances show that Dunlap was more than just another guy with a guitar -- he's a first-rate songwriter, and it's a pleasure to hear a handful of similarly gifted tunesmiths find so many worthwhile things in his work.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2013
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396629527
catalogNumber: 6295

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frankie Lee   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
John Doe   Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Earle   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Chris Mars   Vocals,Musician
John Sebastian   Harmonica
Lucinda Williams   Vocals
Joe Henry   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Scott McCaughey   Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Curtiss A   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Frank Black   Vocals
Paul Westerberg   Guitar,Piano,Tambourine,Vocals
Ed Ackerson   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Steve Almaas   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
David Barbe   Bass
Kurt Bloch   Guitar,Vocals,Oud
Peter Buck   Guitar
Jennifer Condos   Bass
Jakob Dylan   Vocals
Mark Greenberg   Piano
Phil Hernandez   Drums
Peter Holsapple   Musician
Tad Hutchinson   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Tommy Keane   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Greg Leisz   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar,Soloist
Gary Louris   Guitar,Vocals
Val McCallum   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Soloist
John Moen   Drums
Tim O'Reagan   Guitar,Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals
Chris Osgood   Guitar
Marc Perlman   Bass
David Piltch   Bass,Double Bass
Chan Poling   Piano,Vocals
Jim Sangster   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Jim Spake   Saxophone
Tommy Stinson   Bass,Background Vocals
Pete Thomas   Drums
Scott Thompson   Trumpet
Jeff Tweedy   Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Patrick Warren   Piano
Karen Grotberg   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jay Bellerose   Drums
Andy Kent   Bass
Noah Levy   Percussion,Drums
Scott Lucas   Guitar,Vocals
Tim Rogers   Vocals
John Eller   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Dave Boquist   Rhythm Guitar,Slide Guitar
Kevin Bowe   Guitar,Background Vocals
Rick Steff   Keyboards
Dave Biljan   Background Vocals
Jim Boquist   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Sprague Hollander   Guitar
Jacques Wait   Guitar
Chris Lynch   Harmonica,Accordion,Background Vocals
Chris Maxwell   Electric Guitar
Craig Finn   Guitar,Vocals
Patterson Hood   Guitar,Vocals
Nate Query   Bass
Peter Anderson   Drums
Brien Lilja   Banjo
John C. Stubblefield   Bass
Vanessa Carlton   Vocals
Brad Morgan   Drums
R. Walt Vincent   Piano,Drums,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Ben Nichols   Guitar,Vocals
Rob Crowell   Bass,Piano
Kraig Jarret Johnson   Bass
Brian Venable   Guitar
Ben Perlstein   Bass Guitar
Jacob Morris   Cello
Steve Price   Bass,Background Vocals,Upright Bass
Levon Henry   Soprano Saxophone
Jay Gonzalez   Piano
Dennis Ryan   Drums
Keefus Ciancia   Piano,Keyboards
Dustin Dobernig   Keyboards
Davey Lane   Guitar,Vocals
John J. McCauley   Guitar,Vocals
Emily Roberts   Background Vocals
Chip Roberts   Background Vocals
Spencer Tweedy   Guitar,Drums
Louie Dunlap   Guitar,Vocals
Jonny Phillip   Drums
David Ahl   Drums
Bee Dunlap   Guitar,Vocals
Tony Lopez   Guitar
Rusty Hopkinson   Drums
Rory Barry   Drums
Quinn Scharber   Guitar

Technical Credits

Frankie Lee   Producer
Chris Mars   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Cover Art
Soul Asylum   Producer
Joe Henry   Producer
Scott McCaughey   Producer,Engineer
James Burton   Composer
Curtiss A   Producer
Paul Westerberg   Producer
Ed Ackerson   Producer,Engineer
Steve Almaas   Producer,Engineer
David Barbe   Producer,Engineer
John Fields   Producer
Mark Greenberg   Engineer
Peter Holsapple   Engineer
Tad Hutchinson   Composer
Peter Jesperson   Liner Notes
Tommy Keane   Producer,Engineer
Tim O'Reagan   Producer
Chan Poling   Producer
Tommy Stinson   Producer,Vocal Engineer
You Am I   Producer
Chris Scott   Producer,Engineer
Jim Boquist   Producer
David J. Russ   Engineer
Ryan Freeland   Engineer
Carl Davino   Vocal Engineer
Joe Crockett   Engineer
Erik Koskinen   Engineer
Adam Selzer   Engineer
R. Walt Vincent   Producer,Engineer
Michael Buchmiller   Art Direction
George Fontaine   Executive Producer
Ben Perlstein   Producer
Michael Ruthig   Executive Producer
Adam Landry   Engineer
David Lane   Engineer
Steve Price   Producer,Engineer
Elegant Too   Producer
Justin Collins   Engineer
Robert Dunlap   Composer
Bee, Louie & Brien   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews