by Benny Carter



Due to his being such a talented altoist, arranger and occasional trumpeter for seven decades, it is often forgotten that Benny Carter wrote some worthy songs along the way. "When Lights Are Low" and "Blues in My Heart" are standards while "Only Trust Your Heart," "Key Largo" and the novelty hit "Cow-Cow Boogie" are close. For this unusual set, 14 different singers had opportunities to interpret one or two Carter compositions while joined by a fine quintet consisting of cornetist Warren Vache, pianist Chris Neville, bassist Steve LaSpina, drummer Sherman Ferguson and Carter himself (88 at the time!) on alto. The ambitious program includes five Carter songs that were receiving their world premiere; in addition Carter also wrote or co-wrote the lyrics to nine of the pieces. The singers all show respect for the melody and words with Jon Hendricks being playful on "Cow-Cow Boogie," Joe Williams quite touching on "I Was Wrong" and a weakened Peggy Lee making a memorable cameo on "I See You." The vocalists consistently seem quite inspired by the unique project. There are many short Carter and Warren Vache solos and, even with the emphasis on ballads, there is more variety than one might expect. The well-conceived tribute (which also has fine appearances by Dianne Reeves, Carmen Bradford, Kenny Rankin, Marlena Shaw, Diana Krall, Billy Stritch, Shirley Horn, Bobby Short, Ruth Brown, Weslia Whitfield and Nancy Marano) is easily recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/27/1996
UPC: 0016126513423
catalogNumber: 65134


  1. Only Trust Your Heart
  2. All That Jazz
  3. I Was Wrong
  4. Rain
  5. Cow Cow Boogie
  6. Fresh out of Love
  7. Speak Now
  8. A Kiss from You
  9. You Bring out the Best in Me
  10. My Kind of Trouble Is You
  11. When Lights Are Low
  12. Lonely Woman
  13. Key Largo
  14. We Were in Love
  15. I See You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Benny Carter   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone
Warren Vaché   Cornet
John Heard   Bass
Gene DiNovi   Piano
Sherman Ferguson   Drums
Steve LaSpina   Bass
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Chris Neville   Piano

Technical Credits

Ed Berger   Producer,Liner Notes
Benny Carter   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Stillman   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Eric Cowden   Engineer
Ray Sonin   Composer
Amy Yanoschak   Artwork,Art Direction
Danny Kapilian   Producer
Paul Vandervoort   Composer
Ben Rizzi   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews