Snakes on a Plane: The Album

Snakes on a Plane: The Album


As ridiculous as the horror-comedy Snakes on a Plane appeared to be, one had to wonder what on earth the accompanying soundtrack would sound like. Well, apparently, mass airborne hysteria due to an overabundance of slithering friends equals hefty amounts of dance-remixed emo/pop-punk songs with just a dash of rap for good measure. Aside from occasional reptilian references and intermittent dialogue from the movie -- including, of course, Samuel L. Jackson's now infamous "That's it! I have had it with these muthaf*ckin' snakes on this muthaf*ckin' plane!" -- this collection of songs is more like a Decaydance club mix to be played between live band sets than a soundtrack. What do any of these songs even have to do with the movie? Midtown's Gabe Saporta leads the way with Cobra Starship and the ridiculously catchy dance-pop
ock-rap ditty "Snakes on a Plane (Bring It)," which proves to be one of the most memorable (and fitting), if only for its truly infectious and random nature. From here, many of the tracks fall into that "let's add a Casio beat or drum machine and call it a day" style of remixing; several songs also don't really sound that remarkably different than their original versions. But everything is enjoyable enough if you're already into these bands -- namely cuts from the Sounds, the Bronx, and Jack's Mannequin -- but everyone else will likely be unimpressed. And just so you don't think Snakes on a Plane is an emo-only party, totally random tracks also pop up and, though strong, seem completely out of place in the Warped-heavy crowd. Cee-Lo throws in the funky dance beats of "Ophidiophobia" (fear of snakes, how clever), Donavon Frankenreiter brings his Jack Johnson-esque styling to "Lovely Day," and Michael Franti sidesteps his oft-political agenda to bring the carefree reggae-lite rap of "Hey Now Now." A perfectly enjoyable and disposable album that only enthusiasts of the Pete Wentz faction of emo need pick up. [The clean version contains no expletives.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/15/2006
Label: Watertower Music
UPC: 0794043906923
catalogNumber: 39069

Album Credits

Performance Credits

McKinley Horton   Keyboards
Organized Noize   Drums
Mike Patterson   Bass,Guitar
Cee Lo Green   Vocals
Gabe Saporta   Group Member
Nick Wheeler   Guitar
Maja Ivarsson   Vocals

Technical Credits

Trevor Rabin   Composer
Michael Franti   Composer
Bob Morris   Composer
Organized Noize   Programming
Mark Verbos   Producer,Remixing
Cee Lo Green   Composer
C. Young   Composer
Donavon Frankenreiter   Composer,Producer
P. Brown   Composer
Jason Cienkus   Soundtrack Executive Producer
Tommie Sunshine   Producer,Remixing
Sam Hollander   Composer
Gabe Saporta   Composer
Fall Out Boy   Composer
Bronx   Composer
Tyson Ritter   Composer
Nick Wheeler   Composer
Armor for Sleep   Composer
Maja Ivarsson   Composer
Bob McLynn   Executive Producer
Erin Scully   Music Executive
Jason Linn   Producer
Travis Stever   Composer
Andrew McMahon   Composer
Jason Hill   Producer,Remixing
Matthew Zeek Harris   Art Direction
Ben Jorgensen   Composer
Patrick Stump   Remixing
Claudio Sanchez   Composer
Gym Class Heroes   Composer
William Beckett   Composer
Mike Carden   Composer
Brendon Urie   Composer
Hush Sound   Composer
Andros Rodriguez   Engineer
Ryan Ross   Composer
Spencer Smith   Composer
Greta Salpeter   Composer
Travis "Schleprok" McCoy   Composer
Dave Katz   Composer
Michael Todd   Composer
Jonathan Daniel   Executive Producer
Josh Eppard   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews