Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press
Sibelius Studies

Sibelius Studies

by Timothy L. Jackson, Veijo Murtomaki
Current price is , Original price is $144.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


Sibelius Studies presents a new portrait of this popular and prolific composer. Sibelius's symphonies often have been mentioned in the same breath with Beethoven's; indeed, in the twentieth century, they have enjoyed a commensurate popularity. The book contextualizes Sibelius' symphonies and tone poems in the larger development of European music, especially its transition from late romanticism to modernism. The relationship between Sibelius the man and his music, his personal life and creative work, is explored, with new revelations emerging from sketches, diaries, and letters.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521624169
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 02/01/2000
Series: Cambridge Composer Studies Series
Pages: 300
Product dimensions: 6.85(w) x 9.72(h) x 0.94(d)

Table of Contents

List of plates; Preface; Part I. Reception History and Aesthetics: 1. An essay in post-colonial analysis: Sibelius as an icon of the Finns and others Eero Tarasti; 2. From Kajanus to Karajan: Sibelius on record Robert Layton; 3. 'Sibelius the Progressive' Tim Howell; Part II. Ideology and Structure: 4. Kullervo's problem - Kullervo's story Peter Franklin; 5. Sibelius and the theater: a study of the incidental music for Symbolist plays Eija Kurki; 6. Sibelius's symphonic ballad Skogsrået: biographical and programmatic aspects of his early orchestral music Veijo Murtomäki; 7. Pohjola's Daughter - 'L'aventure d'un héros' Timo Virtanen; 8. Observations on crystallization and entropy in the music of Sibelius and other composers Timothy L. Jackson; Part III. Analytical Studies of the Symphonies: 9. Meter in the opening of the Second Symphony Tapio Kallio; 10. The musical language of the Fourth Symphony Elliott Antokoletz; 11. Rotations, sketches and the Sixth Symphony James Hepokoski; 12. Continuity and design in the Seventh Symphony Edward Laufer; Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews