Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press
Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

by James Hepokoski


Current price is , Original price is $36.99. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


Sibelius's Fifth is one of the great late-Romantic symphonies. In this searching account, based on a wealth of new information, James Hepokoski takes a fresh look at the work and its composer. His findings have implications beyond Sibelius himself into the entire repertory of post-Wagnerian symphonic composition. In addition to providing a descriptive analytical overview, the book also chronicles the work's initial composition and subsequent revisions. It concludes with a discussion of the composer's own prescribed tempos, along with a comparison of several different recordings.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521409582
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 04/01/1993
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 124
Product dimensions: 5.43(w) x 8.46(h) x 0.35(d)

Table of Contents

1. Introduction: Sibelius and the problem of 'Modernism'; 2. The crisis, 1909-1914: 'Let's let the world go its own way'; 3. Reassessed compositional principles, 1912-1915: the five key concepts; 4. Of Heaven's door and migrating swans: composing a confession of faith; 5. Musical process and architecture: a proposed overview; 6. Editions and performance tempos: a brief note.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews