Scattering the Ashes

Scattering the Ashes

by Jeff Friedman, Jeffrey Friedman




A collection of poetry by Jeff Friedman.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780887482571
Publisher: Carnegie-Mellon University Press
Publication date: 04/01/1998
Series: Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series
Pages: 88
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

JEFF FRIEDMAN was born in Chicago, Illinois, and grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. He received his B.A. from Macalester College and his M.F.A. from the University of Iowa. His first collection of poems, The Record-Breaking Heat Wave, was published by BkMk Press at the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1987. His poems have appeared in many magazines, including Poetry, The American Poetry Review, The Antioch Review, The Missouri Review, Indiana Review and New England Review. A recipient of an Individual Artist Fellowship from the New Hampshire State Arts Council, he has won the Editor’s Prize from The Missouri Review and has had residencies at The Macdowell Colony, The Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and Yaddo. He now lives in Hanover, New Hamsphire, and teaches creative writing at Keene State College.

Table of Contents

SECTION 1 The Names of Things • Sunday Walk • The Cutters • Face Off • Summer Night, 1958, St. Louis • Father and Son • The Funeral Service for Paul Ondr • Before Sleep SECTION 2 The Lives of Isaac • Factory Days, Late August • Night Wind • The Customers in Dogtown • The Teacher • J, the Chronicler • The Talker • Jacob Wrestles the Angel SECTION 3 Pick Ups • Beyond the Rain • Desire • The Ruined Staircase Overlooking Wharf Street and the Mississippi River • After Life • Like Breath or Love SECTION 4 My Father Tells Me About His Trip over the Telephone • Alan’s Deli, Sunday Morning, 1962 • At Home • Birch Trees • After the Stroke • Friday Night Services • Reflexive • Nobody Buys • Isaac Talks to His Father • Scattering the Ashes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews