Sam Cooke

Sam Cooke

by Wayne L. Wilson


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Sam Cooke began singing as a child with his very musical family. His good looks, charm, and distinctive and powerful voice captured the audience's attention wherever he performed. He was already a major star in gospel music by the time he blazed into the world of pop. His first single, "You Send Me," jumped to number one on the charts and sold over two million records. After that, there was no stopping this singer, composer, and entrepreneur. His string of top hits includes "Wonderful World," "Twisting the Night Away," "Chain Gang," "Another Saturday Night," and "Bring It On Home to Me." Cooke's masterpiece composition, "A Change Is Gonna Come," became an anthem for the civil rights movement. Hailed as the King of Soul, this Rock and Roll Hall of Fame legend continues to influence artists and the music industry.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781624694035
Publisher: Purple Toad Pub Inc
Publication date: 09/01/2018
Series: Righteous Rockers
Pages: 48
Product dimensions: 7.50(w) x 9.50(h) x 0.30(d)
Lexile: 980L (what's this?)

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 A Family of Singing Children 4

Mahalia Jackson 9

Chapter 2 Gospel's Bright Star 10

The Fisk Jubilee Singers 17

Chapter 3 Crossing Over 18

The Chitlin Circuit 23

Chapter 4 The Hitmaker 24

What Is Soul Music? 31

Chapter 5 A Time of Change 32

L.C. Cooke's Solo Debut 38

Chronology 39

Chapter Notes 41

Further Reading 44

Works Consulted 44

Books 45

On the Internet 45

Glossary 47

Index 48

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews