SACRED TRUST

SACRED TRUST

by Meg O'Brien

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Abby Northrope has everything a woman could want. A wonderful home in Carmel-by-the-Sea, a wealthy lawyer husband, a wide circle of friends and a secure place in the community. She has everything…until Marti Bright, Abby's best friend from school days, is brutally murdered—crucified on a hill overlooking Carmel. But Abby lives with a secret of her own: her ailing marriage, so fairy-tale-like to outsiders, is crumbling. As Abby turns all her energies into a quest to avenge Marti's death, she is led down a labyrinth of lies, half-truths, jealousies and revenge. Terrible secrets come to light: about herself, her husband and Marti. But how are the three tied together? With a killer still on the loose, time is running out.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781460363768
Publisher: MIRA Books
Publication date: 10/15/2014
Sold by: HARLEQUIN
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 506,022
File size: 733 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sacred Trust 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a photojournalist is found crucified. Her friend tries to find out what happened, readable but no real challenge.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is a good book for anyone who loves a great mystery. It keeps you wondering who could be the killer the whole time. I was really shocked when I found out. I encourage anyone to read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A true Meg O'brien who dunnit book. The suspense keeps you from wanting to put the book down..I had to keep reading and changing my mind through out the book as to who the killer was. The story is great and never strays to boredom! I recommend it to all mystery/suspense lovers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Meg O'Brien's new novel SACRED TRUST is a Great Read! I'd like to recommend it. I didn't put the book down all day! Although it is not a true 'romantic novel' per se (it's more in the Thriller/Suspense Genre)I loved the action and main character - Abby Northrup. She's comes across as smart, strong and can take care of herself. Also, the twist and turns in the plot kept me going and made me crazy!! (in a good way, of course). I have read other works by Meg O'Brien, with most recently, CRASHING DOWN and loved how she was able to keep me guessing till the very end at 'Whodunit?' and 'Why?' SACRED TRUST, did not let me down with this either. I had a bunch of people in my mind who I thought might be the killer and many reason why they would do it. It drove me nuts. I had to finish the book to see if I was right! So, sit back, have a cup of Jasmine Tea and enjoy the mystery and suspense this book has to offer :-) But, make sure you don't have any plans for the day that you'll have to cancel because you can't put the book down!! :-)Oh, and if you have a dog...keep him close by :-)
harstan More than 1 year ago
Marti Bright was a photojournalist who focused her camera and pen on the homeless and impoverished women and children. She touched many lives, sometimes even changing them for the better until a sociopath snuffed out her life in a bizarre religious-like ritual. No one mourned her death more than her best friend Abby Northrup did and still does.

On the surface Abby seems to have it all. She has a loving husband, a beautiful home, and plenty of discretionary money. However, her idyllic life is a façade and has been ever since she caught her spouse in bed with her sibling. She also feels guilty that she never kept in touch with Marti. When Marti died she scribbled Abby¿s name in the sand making it look like Abby was involved in her death. The Secret Service is investigating Marti¿s death because the victim was a close friend of the first family. They feel Abby is the prime suspect until her husband disappears when ordered to report for questioning. Anger joins fear as Abby begins her own inquires that hopefully will clear her name and put closure to her friend¿s death.

Meg O¿Brien has written another exhilarating thriller that will appeal to fans of Barbara Michaels and Jan Burke. The exciting story line contains numerous twists and turns that leaves the reader wondering what will happen next. In the hands of a lesser talent, the lead protagonist would be a victim, but Ms. O¿Brien turns her into an intrepid but frightened survivor. SACRED TRUST is a powerful work that should reach all the bestseller lists.

Harriet Klausner