Romeo's Escape

Romeo's Escape

by Dave Alvin


After leaving the Blasters (and ending a short stint as the post-Billy Zoom guitarist in X), Dave Alvin kicked off his solo career with this album, in which he indulged in his passions for blues, country, and roots rock in stronger and grittier form than he had in his previous bands. The album's eclecticism, however, proved to be its commercial Achilles heel; in America, it was marketed as a country album under the title Romeo's Escape, even though the title track was the album's fiercest rocker, while in Europe it was called Every Night About This Time after a superb country weeper Alvin wrote for the set, but was pitched as a rock album. Needless to say, most everyone was confused and few people heard the record under either title, which is a real shame. If Alvin was still getting his sea legs as a vocalist on Romeo's Escape, his emotional conviction and intelligent phrasing outweigh his somewhat limited range, and he's rarely rocked harder in the studio (with Tony Gilkyson, Greg Leisz, and David Hidalgo helping to kick up some dust in his backing band). The re-recordings of several Blasters classics ("Long White Cadillac," "Border Radio," "Jubilee Train") bring out sharp new angles in the songs that are worth hearing, and the rest of the lineup proves he had lots of new material worthy of his talents (especially "Every Night About This Time" and "I Wish It Was Saturday Night"). While Dave Alvin's work would get stronger and more confident with time, Romeo's Escape left no doubt he had the goods to be a first-rate frontman, while his gifts as a guitarist and writer remained as strong as ever.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/20/1995
Label: Razor & Tie
UPC: 0793018207423
catalogNumber: 82074

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Alvin   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Katy Moffatt   Vocals,Background Vocals
Kooper   Hammond Organ
Jerry Angel   Percussion,Drums,Track Performer
Steve Berlin   Saxophone
Gil T.   Bass
Tony Gilkyson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Alan Graham   Vocals,Background Vocals
David Hidalgo   Guitar,Violin,Vocals,8-string Guitar
Greg Leisz   Acoustic Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Track Performer,Lap Steel Guitar
Johnny Logan   Harmonica,Keyboards
Matthew McCauley   Vocals,Background Vocals
Greg Sutton   Bass
John "Juke" Logan   Harmonica,Keyboards,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Dave Alvin   Liner Notes
Steve Berlin   Producer
Mark Linett   Producer,Engineer,Contributor
Mark Linnet   Producer,Engineer
Terry Staunton   Liner Notes
Lou Beach   Cover Art

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews