Rock, A Life Story: The Illustrated Encyclopedia to Albums, Artists and Great Songs

Rock, A Life Story: The Illustrated Encyclopedia to Albums, Artists and Great Songs

by Paul du Noyer

Hardcover

$35.00

Overview

This is the ultimate story of a life of rock music, from the 1950s to the present day. Rock is the enduring sound of music, once just the preserve of the rebellious young, now the rock gods of the 60s and 70s are still playing, to both their old audiences and new generations of avid fans. Divided into eras, from Roots, through the Sixties and Seventies to the Noughties, learn about the development of rock, the key artists, albums, inspirations and legacies. This brilliant new book offers a glorious slice of rock, the story of our lives, for fans of The Who, The Sex Pistols, Led Zep, Muse, Radiohead, Jack White and More.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780857758071
Publisher: Flame Tree Iguides
Publication date: 08/22/2013
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 11.70(w) x 11.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Foreword by Bryan May. With a musical career spanning four decades, Queen founding member Brian May is a world-renowned guitarist and songwriter, with production and performance credits on recordings, that have sold in excess of 100 million copies worldwide.

Paul Du Noyer (Consultant editor) began his career on the New Musical Express, went on to edit Q and to found Mojo. He also helped to launch Heat and several music websites. As well as editing several rock reference books, he is the author of We All Shine On, about the solo music of John Lennon, and Wondrous Place, a history of the Liverpool music scene. He is nowadays a contributing editor of The Word.

Contributing Authors: Richard Buskin, Alan Clayson, Joe Cushley, Rusty Cutchin, Jason Draper, Hugh Fielder, Mike Gent, Drew Heatley, Michael Heatley, Jake Kennedy, Colin Salter, Ian Shirley, John Tobler

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews