Richard Strauss: Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme; Duett-Concertino; Sextett from Capriccio

Richard Strauss: Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme; Duett-Concertino; Sextett from Capriccio

by Paavo Järvi

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)


In no piece is the competition very wide because there never have been many recordings of the "Der Bürger als Edelmann," the "Duetto-Concertino," or even the "Sextet" from the "Capriccio" by Richard Strauss. But in every piece, the competition is as good as it gets with Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony on one "Der Bürger" and Herbert von Karajan and the Philharmonia on the "Sextet." But despite the odds, Paavo Järvi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie of Bremen perform as well or better than the competition. Järvi is alert to the tone color, the rhythmic impetus, and the ironically affectionate edge of "Der Bürger." With the wonderfully alert playing of the Kammerphilharmonie, his performance reminds one less of Strauss' "Schlagobers" and more of Stravinsky's "Petrushka." Clarinetist Nicole Kern and Higinio Arrué are dry, witty, and warm in the "Duetto" and the string sextet for the "Capriccio" "Sextet" is sweet, soulful, and just a bit sentimental. The super audio sound of PentaTone Classics is close and deep and real.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/14/2004
Label: Pentatone
UPC: 0827949006067
catalogNumber: 5186060


  1. Der Bürger als Edelmann (Le bourgeois gentilhomme), suite from the ballet for orchestra, Op. 60-IIIa (TrV 228c)

    1. Ouvertüre (Overture)  (04:00)
    2. Menuett  (01:40)
    3. Der Fechtmeister (The Fencing-Master)  (01:44)
    4. Auftritt und Tanz der Schneider (Entrance and Dance of the Tailors)  (04:53)
    5. Das Menuett des Lully (Lully's Minuet)  (02:14)
    6. Courante  (02:42)
    7. Auftritt des Cleonte (Entrance of Cleonte)  (04:26)
    8. Vorspil zum 2. Aufzug (Prelude to Act II)  (03:19)
    9. Das Diner (The Dinner)  (10:40)
  2. Duet-Concertino for clarinet, bassoon, harp & strings, o.Op. 147 (TrV 293, AV 147)

    1. Allegro moderato  (05:57)
    2. Andante  (03:14)
    3. Rondo. Allegro ma non troppo  (09:15)
  3. Sextet for 2 violins, 2 violas & 2 cellos (from the opera "Capriccio"), Op. 85 (TrV 279a)  (11:22)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews