Richard Stark's Parker: Slayground

Richard Stark's Parker: Slayground

by Darwyn Cooke, Richard Stark

Hardcover(Mature Readers (ages 16 and up))

$17.91 $17.99 Save 0% Current price is $17.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 0%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24


Parker, whose getaway car crashes after a heist, manages to elude capture with his loot by breaking into an amusement park that is closed for the winter. But his presence does not go unnoticed — a pair of cops observed the job and its aftermath. But rather than pursue their suspect… they decide to go into business for themselves, with the help of some "business associates." From then on it's a game of cat and mouse, one played out through closed rides of the abandoned carnival… a game that slowly starts to favor the mouse.

Winner of the 2014 Eisner Awards for Best Adaptation from Another Medium and Best Lettering, and includes the Eisner Award-winning short story "The Seventh," previously only available in the Martini Edition

Darwyn Cooke, Eisner-Award winning creator of DC: The New Frontier, continues adapting Richard Stark's genre-defining Parker novels with his signature pulp flair in this final installment. A hard-nosed thief, Parker is Richard Stark's most famous creation, and Stark, in turn, is the most famous pen name of Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Donald E. Westlake. If Cooke's previous Parker adaptations are any indicaton, we'd best to buckle up.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781613778128
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Publication date: 12/24/2013
Series: Parker Series
Edition description: Mature Readers (ages 16 and up)
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 1,127,800
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 16 Years

About the Author

Richard Stark is the most famous pseudonym of world-renowned author Donald Westlake (1933-2008). In 1962 hecreated the master thief Parker and began a series of novels that have been recognized as seminal works of crime fiction. Several of Westlake’s books have been adapted by Hollywood and Westlake’s adaptation of The Grifters earned him an Academy Award nomination for best motion picture screenplay. Westlake has won numerous awards for his fiction and in 1993 the Mystery Writers of America named him a Grand Master, the highest honor bestowed by that prestigious society.

Darwyn Cooke (1962-2015) was a graphic designer and animator who turned his attention toward cartooning in the late nineties. Known primarily for his work on the DC line of superheroes, Cooke always had an affinity for crime fiction and has often cited the Parker books as a great source of creative inspiration. Cooke has won multiple Eisner, Harvey, and Shuster awards, as well as the National Cartoonist Society’s Best Series award. In 2008 Cooke was Emmy-nominated for the animated adaptation of his magnum opus, DC: The New Frontier.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Richard Stark's Parker: Slayground 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
tysonblue More than 1 year ago
Darwin Cooke continues his spectacular series of graphic novel adaptations of the classic Parker novels by Donald Westlake, writing as Richard Stark. This time, Parker is playing a deadly game of cat-and-mouse as he attempts to elude a gang of criminals and crooked cops in an amusement park which is closed for the winter. Anyone who has read the other three entries in this series will know what to expect. New readers should just save time and go ahead and get the first three books now. This volume also contains a short adaptation of the seventh Parker novel, coincidentally entitled "The 7eventh".