Ramon Llull: Temps de conquestes, de diàleg i desconhort

Ramon Llull: Temps de conquestes, de diàleg i desconhort

by Jordi Savall



This double album, presented with a massive hardback tome, seems at first glance to be incredibly obscure. Ramon Llull (say YOO-ee and you'll be in the ballpark), who lived from 1232 to 1316, is known, if at all, as the first significant writer in the Catalan language. He was not a composer, but a philosopher, poet, and Franciscan friar. But as usual, Savall turns his gaze not toward minutiae, but outward toward vast social and political trends, and Llull's life and work turn out to be ideally suited for this purpose. He was a world traveler, venturing as far as Armenia, and his life reflected the religious, military, and political tensions of Golden Age Spain. The program begins before Llull's birth, with a musical depiction of Muslim-ruled Majorca, and ends after his death, with pieces reflecting the development of the ideas he set in motion. Along the way are pieces of music, polyphonic and monophonic, setting texts by Llull, musically accompanied narrations of excerpts from his longer texts, and finally pieces reflecting the various surroundings in which he worked and lived: pieces, one might say, that he did not write but could have. This is an extraordinary combination that is not only relevant to the figure at hand but may be regarded as exemplary in bringing to life music that exists at such a great remove of time and space from our own. Even more than other Savall releases, this is one that requires a bit of delving into the booklet -- in six languages -- in order to understand why the pieces have been chosen and ordered as they are. The listener who does so, however, will be rewarded with a document of rare historical immediacy and power. Bravo!

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2016
Label: Alia Vox Spain
UPC: 9788494138584
catalogNumber: 9915
Rank: 246291


Disc 1

  1. Ramon Llull: Temps de conquestes, de diàleg i desconhort, historical readings & music

    1. Invocació: Campana & Flauta Doble  (00:51)
    2. Doctrina Pueril, LXXIIII, Sobre la Música  (01:01)
    3. Taksim (Kanon, Oud, Vielle) / Moaxaja Ya man Laibd Bihi Chamoulo  (03:16)
    4. Improvisació (Arpa Medieval)  (02:51)
    5. Llibre dels Fets de Jaume I  (01:05)
    6. Taksim (Instrumental)  (00:43)
    7. Improvisació ceterina  (00:27)
    8. Lo Desconhort (LXVIII-LXIX) De Ramon Llull (text) / No puesc sofrir la dolor by Guiraut de Borneill  (07:09)
    9. Retrat de joventut de Llibre de contemplació de Ramon Llull  (01:52)
    10. Vida de Mestre Ramon, §1, 4  (02:54)
    11. 1265 Inicia la peregrinació a Sant Jaume de Compostel·la i altres lloc sants.  (00:16)
    12. 1306 Expulsió dels jueus de França per Felip IV el Bell.  (00:16)
    13. Taksim (Ney, Kanun)  (02:09)
    14. Taksim (Instrumental) / Vida de mestre Ramon, §36 (text)  (02:28)
    15. Música (Vielle, Duduk)  (01:14)
    16. Introducció arpa gòtica  (00:30)
    17. Música (Tambor)  (00:25)
    18. Improvisació (llaüt medieval) / Vida de Mestre Ramon, §42 (text)  (02:04)
    19. Blanquerna estava en oració...  (03:33)
    20. Taksim (Kanun, Oud)  (01:28)
    21. 1290 El general dels franciscans, Ramon Gaufredi, l’autoritza a ensenyar als convents d’Itàlia.  (00:24)
    22. Tambor Fúnebre  (00:27)
    23. Música (Arpa Medieval)  (00:34)
    24. Música: Tambors, Duduk & Ney - Breviculum, figura 8 (text)  (02:41)
    25. Música (Oud, Kanun)  (02:26)
    26. Música: Tambor 2  (00:22)
    27. 1295 A Roma, Llull fa una Petició a Bonifaci VIII, nou papa elegit el desembre de l’any anterior. E  (00:17)
    28. Campanes 2  (00:23)
    29. Improvisació ceterina 2  (00:31)
  2. Aissi cum es genserpascors  (05:51)
  3. Fanfara  (01:52)
  4. Kalenda maia ni fueills de faia, estampie  (01:54)
  5. Veri dulcis in tempore (Codex de 1010)  (02:08)
  6. Work(s): Maqam Hijaz / Plany árab

    1. Maqam Hijaz / Plany árab  (03:38)
  7. Cantiga de Santa María 100, Santa Maria, strela do dia  (03:08)
  8. Ya Mariam el bekr, hymn  (04:28)
  9. Mater Dei / Mater Virgo / Eius  (02:35)
  10. Istampitta  (03:55)
  11. Ave donna santissima  (04:42)
  12. Jerusalem se plaint et li pais  (05:32)
  13. Billadi Askara Min adbi Llama, traditional mowachah  (02:57)
  14. Roma gaudens jubila  (02:05)

Disc 2

  1. Tant m'abelis  (02:21)
  2. Deus est ainsi comme li pelicans  (03:12)
  3. Quant ay lo món consirat (Chanson de troubadour)  (04:51)
  4. Son yürük sema'i  (02:00)
  5. Campanes  (00:17)
  6. O totius Asie Gloria, Regis Alexandrie Filia, conductus  (02:20)
  7. Improvisation on Reis glorios, for psaltery  (01:51)
  8. Fanfara de Coronació  (01:00)
  9. Te Deum, in mode 4  (02:29)
  10. Qamti be-Ishon Layla, for cantor & ensemble  (03:20)
  11. Kevokê, dance  (04:04)
  12. Piangiti christiani  (01:58)
  13. Tribum/Quoniam secta/Merito hec patimur, motet  (02:33)
  14. Qaduka  (02:40)
  15. Veni sancte Spiritus, sequence for 3 voices  (04:42)
  16. Propiñán de Melyor, for ensemble (Colombina Songbook)  (01:12)
  17. Uzzäl usules Darb-i feth, taksim & makam  (02:18)
  18. Dindirindin, canzon alla villota, CM 127  (01:31)
  19. Work(s)  (03:02)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews