Pictures from Home

Pictures from Home

by John Gregory


$13.74 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.74, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


If you remember John Cougar Mellencamp's early years with a surge of adolescent-hormone nostalgia, or if Will Hoge's first two albums bring a tear to your eye, then you're sure to love the debut effort from John Gregory, on which his unassumingly confessional lyrics and charmingly hoarse voice are couched in unapologetically melodic heartland guitar rock that will make you feel like you're driving through the cornfields at dusk in a pickup truck with the windows open no matter where you are. "Ride of Your Life" and "It's OK, It's Alright" are classic uplift anthems, the kind of songs that people ask DJs to play on the radio for their friends who are going through hard times. On "Stronger Than Gravity" Gregory proclaims his willingness to endure jail time or crucifixion if that's what it takes to keep his girl; on "Up Against My Heart" he praises his girlfriend for trying to make him quit smoking and recognizes that she does it because she wants to be with him forever, not just because she's trying to change him. Throughout the album he's pushed along by Mellencamp's drummer and the Wallflowers' organist, among other similarly inclined session pros, and if the result isn't either groundbreaking or innovative, it's as satisfying as a good steak dinner.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678364822
catalogNumber: 83648
Rank: 110536

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Gregory   Primary Artist,Guitar,Accordion,Vocals
Kenny Aronoff   Drums
Paul Bushnell   Bass
Paul Gordon   Piano,Hammond Organ
James Harrah   Rhythm Guitar
Rami Jaffee   Hammond Organ
Gary Novak   Drums
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Patrick Warren   Piano,Keyboards
John Shanks   Guitar
Stuart Smith   Guitar
Curt Coumo   Background Vocals
Chris Chaney   Bass
Christopher Joyner   Piano,Hammond Organ
Zac Rae   Keyboards,Mini Moog
Tara Ellis   Background Vocals
Danny Deigan   Guitar

Technical Credits

Rob Jacobs   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Silbar   Composer
J.V.C.   Camera Operator
John Shanks   Producer
Richard Bates   Art Direction
John Greenberg   Management
Mark Valentine   Engineer
Jeff Rothschild   Engineer
Tim LeBlanc   Engineer
John Gregory   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews