by Laurie Allyn


$12.83 $14.99 Save 14% Current price is $12.83, Original price is $14.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


Here is a real obscurity. Laurie Allyn sang jazz in Chicago in the mid-'50s and made this one recording for the Mode label. Unfortunately a week later the label ceased operations, and although this set was listed in its catalogs, it was not released for the first time until 47 years later. Allyn, who would later go by the name of Didi Pierce, apparently never recorded another jazz date, and that is a pity. Her voice is small but quite expressive, cool but inwardly emotional. Her choice of notes is excellent and she draws listeners into the music. Accompanied by a string orchestra on eight selections and a brass section on four others, with all of the numbers arranged by Marty Paich, Allyn is in superior form on such songs as "You Go to My Head," "Easy Living," a slow version of "The More I See You," and "Where Are You." Trumpeter Don Fagerquist, guitarist Al Viola, and pianist Paich are major assets in the backup bands. This ballad-oriented set is well worth acquiring by fans of 1950s jazz-influenced vocalists; some of the singing (particularly on "I'll Never Smile Again") is quite haunting.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/17/2004
Label: Vsop Records
UPC: 0722937111122
catalogNumber: 111
Rank: 110580

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Laurie Allyn   Primary Artist,Vocals
Herbie Harper   Trombone
Mel Lewis   Percussion,Drums
Red Mitchell   Bass,Double Bass
Pete Candoli   Trumpet
Lee Katzman   Trumpet
Viola   Guitar
Felix Slatkin   Violin,Concert Master,Soloist
Frank Beach   Trumpet
George Berres   Violin
Pete Carpenter   Trombone
Stella Castellucci   Harp
Alvin Dinkin   Viola
Don Fagerquist   Trumpet,Soloist
Ed Leddy   Trumpet
Marvin Limonick   Violin
Marty Paich   Piano,Celeste,Leader
Alexander Neiman   Viola
Irma Neumann   Violin
George Roberts   Trombone,Bass Trombone
Paul Shure   Violin
Vincent DeRosa   French Horn
Eleanor Slatkin   Cello
Joachim Chassman   Violin

Technical Credits

Dave Pell   Cover Photo
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
Rube Bloom   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Peter DeRose   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Bones Howe   Engineer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Red Clyde   Audio Production
Harold Adamson   Composer
Gordon Clifford   Composer
Benny Davis   Composer
Ruth Lowe   Composer
Alfred Markus   Composer
Fritz Rotter   Composer
Peter Jacobson   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews