Our Hero (Babymouse Series #2)

Our Hero (Babymouse Series #2)

by Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm

Paperback

$6.84 $6.99 Save 2% Current price is $6.84, Original price is $6.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!

With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

For Babymouse, school is a constant battle between good (Babymouse), evil (Felicia Furrpaws), and more evil (gym class!). Can things get any worse? Yup. Because it’s time for the annual dodgeball tournament. What’s a mouse to do? Don’t miss the excitement in Our Hero—the 2nd hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375832307
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 12/27/2005
Series: Babymouse Series , #2
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 106,247
Product dimensions: 5.56(w) x 7.06(h) x 0.35(d)
Lexile: GN410L (what's this?)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

Brother-and-sister team Matthew Holm and Jennifer L. Holm grew up playing with stuffed mice. Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Our Hero (Babymouse Series #2) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
RomanceWriter More than 1 year ago
My 9 year old daughter has collected all of these books in this story line. She laughs and rereads them. I asked her why she likes this story line and she just said, "Because it's a mouse and she has good stories." It's written in a comic book style, so if you are having a hard time getting your child to read, start with these.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the best!!!! I am one of those girls that dont really like to read alot. So my friend introdused m eto Babymouse!!!! For kids like me we would really enjoy this!! I think these are tye best books ever!!
red_dianthus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This entire series is adorable and every young girl I have suggested it to has loved it. My daughter is counting the days until the next one comes out, and when it does I am sure once more her older sister and I will also borrowing it to see what Babymouse is up to next. A great book to get girls reading, and thinking about alternative formats like graphic novels.
bookcat27 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a graphic novel that is part of a series. It portrays a mouse named Babymouse who does not like to go to school. Everything is such a big deal with her. When she finds out that there's going to be dodgeball the next day in PE, she dreads coming to school. She talks to her best friend Wilson the weasel about why she is afraid. Wilson tells her to be brave and face her fears, which is easier said than done. It's all Felicia Furrypaws fault for being a bully. After a lot of soul searching, Babymouse goes to school to face her bully. During the game, Wilson is about to be creamed by Felicia when Babymouse steps in and saves the day by conquering her fears.
ajterry24 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5PThis book can be explained by Radical Change. The principle of changing formats is expressed in this book - it is a graphic novel for transitional readers.
ringenka on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In "BabyMouse: Our Hero" BabyMouse complains about walking to school, math class, art class, music class, lunch, gym, etcetera. She especially hates dodge ball which she is forced to play in this book. I love the ending of this book, but will not give it away. BabyMouse is touted as being sassy. According to Urban Dictionary sassy means "possessing the attitude of someone endowed with an ungodly amount of cool." I think a more appropriate description of BabyMouse is whiny defined by Urban Dictionary as "a person prone to complaining." I also am not a fan of the illustrations in this book. I like the use of pink, but I generally find the style to be rough and sometimes difficult to interpret.
rsteinberg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
BABYMOUSE imagines herself as a hero thinks she so great except, she is not the best student in school. This book is good for people who like silly comics!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all the babymouse books!I recommend you to read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These are the words of my 9-year-old daughter: I think they are really fun, and they are good for a girl my age. I like that it is a comic, which makes it easier and faster to read than a chapter book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Babymouse is back and ready for action! Let's just hope she has enough courage to play some dodgeball first!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, the Annual Dodgeball Tournament is coming up, and she freaks out¿ Hm! our heroine thinks -- '¿maybe a meteor will hit the school and stop the game.' Oh, no way, you 'better start practicing, Babymouse' if you intend to outshine your nemesis Felicia Furrypaws. Shown in cartoon cut-outs of the trademark pink, black, and white, creators Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm give the readers the scoop that Babymouse has a difficult time getting out of bed in the morning. She whaps the alarm clock with one of her books -- 'FWAP', but she must have a real heart inside her, as her decoration motif is pink hearts on her bedspread, wallpaper, cutout on her bedside table, and pattern on her clothing. She even imagines getting awarded 'The Pink Heart' medal for taking out the garbage without being reminded. Nah! she's still lingering in bed when she comes out of that dream, and is late catching the bus¿ again¿ and the school walking trail is 'long and dusty', and more than 2,000 miles long. (At least that is what Babymouse's imagination tells her, because she only lives two blocks away from the school!) Babymouse is good at a lot of things, like 'avoiding chores', swinging upside down on a tire tied to a tree branch, and 'sleeping'¿ but Dodgeball???? 'BOP' 'POW' 'BAMM', Ow! so she avoids the game whenever she can, like running high temperatures, or 'spraining her ear' to stay home from school. Friend Wilson to the rescue¿ he helps to train her for the game, while Babymouse makes out her Last Will and Testament! You just have to give this girl mouse credit for trying, and imagining, especially on how to exclude Felicia! Does Babymouse ever become a hero? Read book two and find out, while watching for the next edition in May 2006.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i liked baby mouse beach babe it was good i would tell others to read it. my favorite part was when her brother keeps throwing up on her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, the Annual Dodgeball Tournament is coming up, and she freaks out¿ Hm! our heroine thinks -- '¿maybe a meteor will hit the school and stop the game.' Oh, no way, you 'better start practicing, Babymouse' if you intend to outshine your nemesis Felicia Furrypaws. Shown in cartoon cut-outs of the trademark pink, black, and white, creators Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm give the readers the scoop that Babymouse has a difficult time getting out of bed in the morning. She whaps the alarm clock with one of her books -- 'FWAP', but she must have a real heart inside her, as her decoration motif is pink hearts on her bedspread, wallpaper, cutout on her bedside table, and pattern on her clothing. She even imagines getting awarded 'The Pink Heart' medal for taking out the garbage without being reminded. Nah! she's still lingering in bed when she comes out of that dream, and is late catching the bus¿ again¿ and the school walking trail is 'long and dusty', and more than 2,000 miles long. (At least that is what Babymouse's imagination tells her, because she only lives two blocks away from the school!) Babymouse is good at a lot of things, like 'avoiding chores', swinging upside down on a tire tied to a tree branch, and 'sleeping'¿ but Dodgeball???? 'BOP' 'POW' 'BAMM', Ow! so she avoids the game whenever she can, like running high temperatures, or 'spraining her ear' to stay home from school. Friend Wilson to the rescue¿ he helps to train her for the game, while Babymouse makes out her Last Will and Testament! You just have to give this girl mouse credit for trying, and imagining, especially on how to exclude Felicia! Does Babymouse ever become a hero? Read book two and find out, while watching for the next edition in May 2006.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, the Annual Dodgeball Tournament is coming up, and she freaks out¿ Hm! our heroine thinks -- '¿maybe a meteor will hit the school and stop the game.' Oh, no way, you 'better start practicing, Babymouse' if you intend to outshine your nemesis Felicia Furrypaws. Shown in cartoon cut-outs of the trademark pink, black, and white, creators Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm give the readers the scoop that Babymouse has a difficult time getting out of bed in the morning. She whaps the alarm clock with one of her books -- 'FWAP', but she must have a real heart inside her, as her decoration motif is pink hearts on her bedspread, wallpaper, cutout on her bedside table, and pattern on her clothing. She even imagines getting awarded 'The Pink Heart' medal for taking out the garbage without being reminded. Nah! she's still lingering in bed when she comes out of that dream, and is late catching the bus¿ again¿ and the school walking trail is 'long and dusty', and more than 2,000 miles long. (At least that is what Babymouse's imaginnation tells her, because she only lives two blocks away from the school!) Babymouse is good at a lot of things, like 'avoiding chores', swinging upside down on a tire tied to a tree branch, and 'sleeping'¿but Dodgeball? 'BOP' 'POW' 'BAMM', Ow! so she avoids the game whenever she can, like running high temperatures, or 'spraining her ear' to stay home from school. Friend Wilson to the rescue¿ he helps to train her for the game, while Babymouse makes out her Last Will and Testament! You just have to give this girl mouse credit for trying, and imagining, especially on how to exclude Felicia! Does Babymouse ever become a hero? Read book two and find out, while watching for the next edition in May 2006.
303jazzy More than 1 year ago
I looooovvvvve BABYMOUS'S character! I looovvve just LOOKING at the pages! It is a great book for girls!


One of babymous's biggest fans,
AMBER!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this babymouse, its so funny and cool