Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$20.69 $22.99 Save 10% Current price is $20.69, Original price is $22.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Overview

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781982657376
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/28/2019
Edition description: Unabridged
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 5.70(h) x (d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Jasmine Warga is the author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. Her debut middle grade book is Other Words for Home. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews